2024 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representatives Scoggin, Blackwell

House Resolution 127

(As Adopted by House)


     WHEREAS, the West Jones High School Mustangs Football Team reigned supreme and emerged undefeated during the 2023 Mississippi High School Athletic Association (MHSAA) season, a truly extraordinary achievement; and

     WHEREAS, the Mustangs, who were driven by more than just the yearning to succeed, finished their undefeated 14-0 season, and then intensely amplified all of their hard work and motivation, which were so apparent throughout the entire season, for the MHSAA Class 6A State Championship; and

     WHEREAS, during the championship, the team's mental stamina and determination never waivered from the moment they ran onto the field until the last down was played, defeating Grenada High School with a 23-3 victory and claiming the MHSAA Class 6A state title; and

     WHEREAS, during the team's first undefeated season in school history, and its thirteenth season winning ten or more games, the Mustangs won the 2023 South State Championship by defeating Picayune 42-13, and won the 2023 Region 3-64 Championship, the team's twelfth region championship in school history; and

     WHEREAS, additionally, as the #1 ranked Defense in Mississippi, during the 2023 season, the Mustangs only gave up a school record of 79 total points; gave up only seven points in Region play; posted seven shut-outs; allowed seven or less points in eleven games; allowed only seven touchdowns all season; scored 35 or more points nine times; and the team's offense scored 472 points, the third most points in school history; and

     WHEREAS, in addition to being named state champions, seven players were selected to the All-State Team, and 18 players were selected to the All-Region Team; and

     WHEREAS, Head Coach Cory D. Reynolds has superbly coached and inspired the Mustangs and broadened their knowledge of the game while refining their skills in execution, and he continues to build upon the legacy of superior play and true sportsmanship forged by the tenacious and undaunted spirit of each team member, as evidenced in his ability to produce high caliber players and plays and by the team's successful season; and

     WHEREAS, the team's success would not have been possible without the help of assistant coaches:  Cecil Hicks, Adam Thompson, Koby Easterling, David Parker, Cody Windham, Dennis Crosby, Sam Boover and J.P. Varnell; athletic trainers:  Natasha Hayes and Joel Pierce; and the leadership of Superintendent Dr. B.R. Jones; Assistant Superintendents:  Larry Johnson and Will Parker; Supervising Principal Cooper Pope; Assistant Principals:  Kacey Chandler, Jeremiah Keyes and David Valentine; and Assistant A.D. Lyndie Lyon; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to recognize and honor the achievements of exceptional student-athletes such as the West Jones High School Mustangs Football Team, who have brought honor to their school, their community and to the State of Mississippi:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the West Jones High School Mustangs Football Team and Head Coach Cory D. Reynolds for winning the Mississippi High School Activities Association Class 6A State Football Championship, and extend best wishes for continued success in all their future endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to West Jones High School Football Team, Head Coach Cory D. Reynolds and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.