2023 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Boyd, Barnett, Blackwell, Butler (38th), Jackson, Parker

Senate Resolution 61


     WHEREAS, Northwest Softball had a historic year, capturing the program's first bid into the NJCAA Division II Championship Tournament.  The "Rangers" were far from satisfied heading into the Region 23 Tournament Championship match with LSU Eunice, and made history once more, rallying from a 2-0 deficit to pull out a 9-2 win against the "Bengals," claiming the program's first-ever Region 23 Title; and

     WHEREAS, Five Northwest teams were recognized as MACCC Academic Teams of the Year; leading the way with the highest overall GPA for all sports was the "Rangers" softball team, which recorded a 3.73 grade point average.  It is the first "Academic Team of the Year" award for softball under Bramlett's three-year tenure; and

     WHEREAS, for the last two seasons, the Northwest softball record books have been rewritten across-the-board thanks to arguably the most dominant sophomore class in program history.

Coach Chelsea Bramlett's group has accounted for 59 victories over the past two seasons, including two appearances into the NJCAA Region 23 Tournament.  Northwest also concluded the 2022 season with a 39-15 overall record, the most victories recorded in a single season; and

     WHEREAS, the "Rangers" finished the year as Region 23 champions and as one of the Final Four Teams left in the NJCAA Division II Softball Championship Tournament, an event that started with 16 teams; and

     WHEREAS, after breaking the program's single-season and career-stolen base records this season, Northwest sophomore speedster Laila Armstrong can add another honor to her collection. Armstrong has been chosen as this year's NJCAA Division II recipient of the "New Balance-NFCA Golden Shoe Award," the National Fastpitch Coaches Association announced on Friday afternoon.  The award is given to the nation's best base stealer from an NFCA member institution; and

     WHEREAS, infielder Caylee Comer, catcher Molly Harris and outfielder Saige Koczka earned All-Tournament recognition, as announced by the NJCAA.  Out of 16 teams in the tournament field, the trio were among just 13 players selected for the postseason honor; and

     WHEREAS, Head Coach Chelsea Bramlett was recognized as the NJCAA Gulf A District (Region 23) "Coach of the Year."  Bramlett was presented with the award during the NJCAA Division II Softball Championship Banquet at Talladega Superspeedway.  It is the first Coach of the Year Award for Bramlett, who is in her third season leading the "Rangers".  Bramlett has guided the softball program to new heights during her brief tenure at Northwest.  In just three seasons, she has compiled a 63-37 overall record, good for a .630 winning percentage.  She has also guided the "Rangers" to its deepest postseason run ever, which included the first NJCAA Region 23 Championship; and

     WHEREAS, the team consisted of Haleigh Buchanan of Tunica, Mississippi; Laila Armstrong of Olive Branch, Mississippi; Kylee Brown of Bethel Springs, Tennessee; Meredith Owen of Covington, Tennessee; Anna Nickens of Senatobia, Mississippi; Reese Vanlandingham of Guntown, Mississippi; Bailey Russell of Batesville, Mississippi; Gracie Mettetal of Sardis, Mississippi; Molly Harris of Senatobia, Mississippi; Maddie Brower of Olive Branch, Mississippi; Saige Koczka of Southaven, Mississippi; Jaclyn Carter of Hernando, Mississippi; Meagan Allen of Lepanto, Arkansas; Kylie Gurley of Potts Camp, Mississippi; Caylee Comer of Brighton, Tennessee; Maggie Brubbs of Hernando, Mississippi; Randi Johnson of Booneville, Mississippi; Gabby Dickerson of Olive Branch, Mississippi; McKayee Polk of Senatobia, Mississippi; and Kaitlyn Bednarek of Olive Branch, Mississippi; and

     WHEREAS, Northwest Softball staff consisted of Chelsea Bramlett, Head Coach; Dustin Young, Assistant Coach; Amber Thomas, Athletic Trainer; Randall Pharr, Head Strength and Conditioning Coach; Jake Gordon, Athletic Director; Liesl Mote, Athletic Academic Advisor; Brian Lentz, Sports Information Director; Brian Oakley, Assistant Sports Information Director; and

     WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize these student athletes who have brought honor to their college, their community and to the State of Mississippi:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Northwest Mississippi Community College "Rangers" Softball Team and Head Coach Chelsea Bramlett for winning their first Region 23 Title and their first MACCC "Academic Team of the Year" Award, and extend the best wishes of the Mississippi Senate to the team, coaches, families and sponsors for future athletic and academic success.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to Head Coach Chelsea Bramlett and NWMCC President Michael J. Heindl, PhD., J.D., for the team, forwarded to the NWMCC Board of Trustees and made available to the Capitol Press Corps.