2007 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Dawkins, Williamson, Harden, Hyde-Smith, Chassaniol, Albritton, Burton, Butler, Fillingane, Frazier, Gollott, Hewes, Horhn, Jackson (11th), Jackson (32nd), Jordan, King, Little, Morgan, Simmons, Thomas, Walls

Senate Concurrent Resolution 553

(As Adopted by Senate and House)


     WHEREAS, March 2007 is National Women's History Month; and

     WHEREAS, in National Women's History Month, we honor all women who have touched this nation's history and our own personal history, women who contribute to the people and ideals of this great country; and

     WHEREAS, American women have played and continue to play a critical economic, cultural, and social role in every sphere of the life of the nation by constituting a significant portion of the labor force working inside and outside of the home; and

     WHEREAS, the theme for National Women's History Month, March 2007 is "Generations of Women Moving History Forward."  The 2007 Honorees represent many generations of women who, with their amazing intelligence, talent, courage and tenacity testify to the myriad ways that generations of women have moved history forward.  In 1977, the National Women's Conference in Houston, Texas marked a high point in the influence of the Women's Rights Movement on the formation of government policy, and this year recognizes the 30th anniversary of this historic event; and

     WHEREAS, American women of every race, class and ethnic background have made historic contributions to the growth and strength of our nation in countless recorded and unrecorded ways.  Women's history becomes a story of inspiration and hope, a story of courage and tenacity, a story of possibility and purpose.  Women's history is our nation's story.  It is the story of how women built communities and inspired and nurtured dreams and how they will continue to do so; and

     WHEREAS, the 2007 Honorees for National Women's History Month are:  Matilda Josyln Gage, Women's Rights Activist, Theorist and Historian; Virginia Foster Durr, Civil Rights Activist and Author; Martha Wright Griffiths, Congresswoman who successfully added sex as a protected class in the 1964 Civil Rights Act; Constance Baker Motley, first African-American woman appointed to the federal Judiciary; Lupe Anguiano, protector of the earth and activist for the poor; Brownie Ledbetter, Civil Rights Advocate and Activist working for equal opportunity for all people; Minniejean Brown Trickey, Civil Rights Activist who integrated Central High School in 1957; Barbara Haney Irvine, Founding President, Alice Paul Centennial Foundation, Inc. (now Alice Paul Institute); Mary Ruthsdotter, Co-Founder of the National Women's History Project; Rebecca S. Halstead, Commanding General, 3rd Corps Support Command, Wiesbaden, Germany; Joanelle Romero, launched Red Nation Media Internet and Television Channel; Suzanne Lewis, first Woman Superintendent in the history of Yellowstone National Park; Toshi Reagon, Singer, Songwriter, blending every American style of music; and Monique Mehta, Executive Director of the Third Wave Foundation; and

     WHEREAS, to emphasize the role of women in our state, the Legislature in 2001 established the Mississippi Commission on the Status of Women to advise and consult with the Legislature and the executive branch on policies affecting the political status and other concerns of women in Mississippi; and

     WHEREAS, despite these contributions, the role of American women in history has been consistently overlooked and undervalued, in the literature, teaching and study of American history; and it is with great pride that we recognize women who serve as role models in pioneering Mississippi's future:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby designate March 2007 as "Women's History Month in Mississippi" and recognize the honorees of the National Women's History Project who represent the theme of "Generations of Women Moving History Forward."

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be forwarded to the Mississippi Commission on the Status of Women to observe appropriate programs, ceremonies, activities and a copy be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.