2007 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Stringer, Montgomery, Sullivan, Ward, Akins, Aldridge, Arinder, Bailey, Baker (74th), Baker (8th), Banks, Barnett, Beckett, Blackmon, Bondurant, Bounds, Broomfield, Brown, Buck, Burnett, Calhoun, Chism, Clark, Clarke, Cockerham, Coleman (29th), Coleman (65th), Compretta, Cummings, Davis, Dedeaux, Denny, Dickson, Eaton, Ellington, Ellis, Espy, Evans, Fillingane, Flaggs, Fleming, Formby, Franks, Fredericks, Frierson, Gadd, Gardner, Gibbs, Gregory, Guice, Gunn, Hamilton (109th), Hamilton (6th), Harrison, Hines, Holland, Holloway, Horne, Howell, Huddleston, Hudson, Ishee, Janus, Jennings, Johnson, Lane, Lott, Malone, Markham, Martinson, Masterson, Mayhall, Mayo, McBride, McCoy, Middleton, Miles, Mims, Moak, Moore, Morgan, Moss, Myers, Nicholson, Norquist, Palazzo, Parker, Patterson, Peranich, Perkins, Read, Reed, Reeves, Reynolds, Robinson (63rd), Robinson (84th), Rogers (14th), Rogers (61st), Rotenberry, Scott, Shows, Simpson, Smith (27th), Smith (39th), Smith (59th), Snowden, Staples, Stevens, Straughter, Thomas, Turner, Upshaw, Vince, Walley, Warren, Watson, Weathersby, Wells-Smith, Whittington, Woods, Young, Zuber

House Resolution 106


     WHEREAS, Representative Bill Miles, an honored and cherished member of the Mississippi House of Representatives, will make the 2007 legislative year his last legislative year when he retires; and

     WHEREAS, the Honorable Bill Miles was elected in February 1996 from a field of six candidates by the citizens of District 21, which is composed of parts of Itawamba and Monroe Counties; and

     WHEREAS, he has utilized the wisdom and experience that he has accrued over the years to guide him in his duties as Chairman of both the House Transportation Committee and Appropriations Sub-Committee for Transportation and as a member of County Affairs, Tourism, Public Utilities and the Joint House-Senate Committee to Investigate State Offices; and

     WHEREAS, as a native of Itawamba County, Representative Bill Miles grew up on a farm in the historic community of Tilden, and after graduating from high school, he attended Itawamba Community College and the University of Mississippi; and

     WHEREAS, during his tenure as Chairman of Transportation, he has developed a reputation as one of the most knowledgeable people in the area of transportation and is considered a champion for highways, public education and health care; and

     WHEREAS, like all champions, he has been honored for his efforts by many organizations, including the Mississippi Organ Recovery Association for authoring a bill to require education of first time driver's license recipients on designating themselves as donors, the Mississippi Railroad Association awarded him "Legislator of the Year" for his efforts in promoting rail crossing safety, and he was awarded the Seat Belt Champion Award for his successful guidance into law of the Primary Seat Belt legislation; and

     WHEREAS, throughout the years, Representative Miles has utilized his leadership skills in the community as a former president of the Amory-North Monroe Chamber of Commerce, former member of the Board of Directors of the Itawamba County Development Council, former officer and board member of the Mississippi Press Association, trustee for the Magnolia Bible College, and member of the board of Sunnybrook Children's Home and Sunnybrook Estates, Inc. in Madison and Ridgeland, Mississippi; and

     WHEREAS, before he began his dedicated service to the Mississippi House of Representatives, Representative Miles was an owner, publisher and editor of a community newspaper, held business interests in Itawamba, Monroe and Lee counties, was a partner in a newspaper enterprise in Lamar County, an advertising and public relations executive in Tupelo, a former journalism and marketing instructor for Itawamba Community College at Fulton and the Ole Miss Center in Tupelo, Mississippi; and

     WHEREAS, Representative Miles is a strong man of faith who is an active member of Fulton Church of Christ where he serves as an elder and Bible Class teacher; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Mississippi House of Representatives to honor one of our own, who has represented his district as well as this legislative body with honor and dignity:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend Representative Bill Miles for his legislative legacy and congratulate him upon the occasion of his retirement from the Mississippi House of Representatives.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Representative Bill Miles and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.