2007 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Martinson, Baker (74th), Blackmon, Coleman (65th), Denny, Fleming, Gunn, Smith (27th), Brown

House Resolution 88


     WHEREAS, the latest chapter of the St. Andrews Saints dynasty might be the most satisfying of all and that St. Andrews, over the past five years, has been the 1A/2A/3A State Champions semifinalists, and the State Champions for the past two years straight; and

     WHEREAS, the Saints finished this season with a 12-6-1 record, which culminated with a second consecutive Mississippi High School Activities Association (MHSAA) Boys Soccer State Championship Title; and

     WHEREAS, the Saints were named in the National Soccer Coaches Association of America's (NSCAA) February 13, 2007, poll as #9 in Region II of the United States; and

     WHEREAS, the Saints have been ranked as a top team in Mississippi for all classifications in The Clarion-Ledger polls and many of their players have been recognized as Top Performers by The Clarion-Ledger; and

     WHEREAS, in 2007, individual honors were received by several players, including the recognition of Aubrey Green, Jordan Hupp, Jerrod Myers and Timothy Hopper as "Top Performers"; the naming and selection of Aubrey Green as Boys Athlete of the Week by The Clarion-Ledger in 2007, to The Clarion-Ledger’s 2007 First Team All-State Boys Soccer Team and as a player on the Mississippi Association of Coaches All-State Soccer Game which will be played in June 2007; and the naming and selection of Andrew Serio as the Boys Athlete of the Week in 2006 and to The Clarion-Ledger’s 2006 and 2007 Second Team All-State Boys Soccer Team; and

     WHEREAS, over the years a number of the Saints players have received All-District and All-State honors; and

     WHEREAS, Head Coach Eric Johnson is coaching the team for his fifth year, is a teacher at St. Andrews Episcopal School and is also a coach for the area’s most recognized select soccer program in the Jackson Futbol Club; and

     WHEREAS, Coach Johnson has brought additional honor to himself and to St. Andrews upon his selection as Coach of the Year in 2006 by the Mississippi Association of Coaches, and in 2007 by the Mississippi Soccer Association; and

     WHEREAS, members of the 2007 MHSAA 1A/2A/3A State Championship Team include:  Seniors:  Dennis Daniels #8, Aubrey Green (Captain) #11, Jordan Hupp #2, Benson Luk #5, Shiva Patlolla #14, Andrew Serio #1 and Steve Stringer #20; Juniors:  Walker Anderson #26, Maxwell James #16, Jeff Lowery #21 and Sandesh Shettar #32; Sophomores:  E.B. Martin #4, Jerrod Myers #23, Tolu Shekoni #7, Harpreet Singh #25 and Sunny Vig #10; Freshmen:  Connor Buechler #29, Daniel Duddleston #12, Timothy Hopper #18, Will Sneed #15, John Magruder Sullivan #31 and Aubrey Threadgill #13; and 8th Graders:  Joseph Martin #33 and Sam Martin #24.

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to recognize and commend the singular achievements of this talented group of student athletes whose incredible success of five seasons and two championships has brought honor to their school, their enthusiastic community and to the State of Mississippi:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the St. Andrews Episcopal School Saints Soccer Team and Coach Eric Johnson for winning their second straight MHSAA 1A/2A/3A State Championship, and extend best wishes for continued success in all of their future academic and athletic endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to St. Andrews Episcopal High School, Coach Eric Johnson and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.