2007 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Mayo, Espy, Brown

House Resolution 82

(As Adopted by House)


     Whereas, George F. Walker, a native of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, received a bachelor of business administration and a master of arts degree from Clark University in the Commonwealth and a master of arts in industrial management from Worcester Polytechnic; and

     WHEREAS, subsequent to his matriculation in higher education, Mr. Walker served in the United States Army during World War II before embarking on a career in industrial manufacturing; and

     Whereas, Mr. Walker and his wife, Gladys, moved to and founded Delta Wire Corporation in Clarksdale, Mississippi, in 1978, building the company into an award winning, nationally recognized supplier of a superior drawn wire product, and becoming a major supplier to international manufacturers requiring superior bead wire for their products, ranging from reinforcement for tires, to contact springs in flashlights, to trans-oceanic wire for the communications industry; and

     Whereas, Mr. Walker's interest in his community moved him to the forefront of economic development, not only in Coahoma County, but also in the State of Mississippi, evidenced by his becoming President of the Clarksdale-Coahoma County Industrial Foundation, board member of the Mississippi Industries for the Blind, the Board of Trustees of the Northwest Regional Medical Center, the Executive Board of the Enterprise Corporation of the Delta, the Business School Advisory Board for Delta State University, the Task Force to Revitalize the Delta and Cochairman of the Mississippi Federal Workforce Training Council and of the Tri-County Workforce Alliance; and

     Whereas, Mr. Walker, whose knowledge, intuitiveness and business savvy attributes transcend party lines, has been appointed by successive Democratic and Republican Governors to three consecutive six-year terms to the State Board of Community and Junior Colleges and is in his tenth year of service as chairman; and

     Whereas, for his dedication and commitment to excellence on the academic and economic fronts, Mr. Walker has received the National Governors' Association Distinguished Service Award, the Entergy Teamwork Mississippi Community Leadership Award, the Public Education Forum of Mississippi Distinguished Service Award, received from Governor Kirk Fordice a Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Overall Growth and Development of Mississippi and is an inductee of the Mississippi Business Hall of Fame; and

     Whereas, in words expressed by Dr. Vivian Presley, President of Coahoma Community College, "George Walker was instrumental in the development of the Coahoma County Higher Education Center in Clarksdale, a partnership between Coahoma Community College and Delta State University.  He works very closely with Coahoma's Workforce Development Center and makes sure that we are meeting the training needs of businesses and industries in our service area.  He is not only an advocate for Coahoma Community College but the entire community college system; he is a true friend and gentleman.  The Delta area has been positively impacted because of his commitment and dedication to promote the economic growth of this area."; and

     Whereas, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to recognize and commend such remarkable Mississippians as Mr. Walker, whose knowledge and resources have been employed in the advancement of Mississippi's beneficiaries of collegiate education and its economic development:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby recognize and commend the distinguished service and contributions of George F. Walker to the City of Clarksdale, Coahoma County, Coahoma Community College and to the State of Mississippi, express deepest appreciation for his services rendered and extend warmest wishes for continued success in all of his future endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Mr. George F. Walker and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.