2007 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative McCoy, Compretta, Dickson, Akins (By Request), Aldridge (By Request), Arinder (By Request), Bailey (By Request), Baker (74th) (By Request), Baker (8th) (By Request), Banks (By Request), Barnett (By Request), Beckett (By Request), Blackmon (By Request), Bondurant (By Request), Bounds (By Request), Broomfield (By Request), Brown (By Request), Buck (By Request), Burnett (By Request), Calhoun (By Request), Chism (By Request), Clark (By Request), Clarke (By Request), Cockerham (By Request), Coleman (29th) (By Request), Coleman (65th) (By Request), Cummings (By Request), Davis (By Request), Dedeaux (By Request), Denny (By Request), Eaton (By Request), Ellington (By Request), Ellis (By Request), Espy (By Request), Evans (By Request), Fillingane (By Request), Flaggs (By Request), Fleming (By Request), Formby (By Request), Franks (By Request), Fredericks (By Request), Frierson (By Request), Gadd (By Request), Gibbs (By Request), Gregory (By Request), Guice (By Request), Gunn (By Request), Hamilton (109th) (By Request), Hamilton (6th) (By Request), Harrison (By Request), Hines (By Request), Holland (By Request), Holloway (By Request), Horne (By Request), Howell (By Request), Huddleston (By Request), Hudson (By Request), Ishee (By Request), Janus (By Request), Jennings (By Request), Johnson (By Request), Lane (By Request), Lott (By Request), Malone (By Request), Markham (By Request), Martinson (By Request), Masterson (By Request), Mayhall (By Request), Mayo (By Request), McBride (By Request), Middleton (By Request), Miles (By Request), Mims (By Request), Moak (By Request), Montgomery (By Request), Moore (By Request), Morgan (By Request), Moss (By Request), Myers (By Request), Nicholson (By Request), Norquist (By Request), Palazzo (By Request), Parker (By Request), Patterson (By Request), Peranich (By Request), Perkins (By Request), Read (By Request), Reed (By Request), Reeves (By Request), Reynolds (By Request), Robinson (63rd) (By Request), Robinson (84th) (By Request), Rogers (14th) (By Request), Rogers (61st) (By Request), Rotenberry (By Request), Scott (By Request), Shows (By Request), Simpson (By Request), Smith (27th) (By Request), Smith (39th) (By Request), Smith (59th) (By Request), Snowden (By Request), Staples (By Request), Stevens (By Request), Straughter (By Request), Stringer (By Request), Sullivan (By Request), Thomas (By Request), Turner (By Request), Upshaw (By Request), Vince (By Request), Walley (By Request), Ward (By Request), Warren (By Request), Watson (By Request), Weathersby (By Request), Wells-Smith (By Request), Whittington (By Request), Woods (By Request), Young (By Request), Zuber (By Request)

House Resolution 9


     WHEREAS, Leonard Morris, a 16-year member of the House of Representatives from District 11, which includes Panola and Tate Counties, departed this earthly life on Friday, January 12, 2007, to enter into eternal rest with his heavenly father, causing great sorrow and loss to his family and friends; and

     WHEREAS, Representative Morris was born on September 15, 1947, the youngest child of William M. and Azalee Houston Morris and grew up in Batesville, Mississippi, later earning degrees from Northwest Mississippi Community College and the University of Mississippi and attending the University of Oklahoma Economic Development Institute, before beginning his career as a public servant by becoming Executive Director of the North Delta Planning and Development District and serving on the Panola County School Board; and

     WHEREAS, he began his service as a legislator when he became a member of the Mississippi House of Representatives in 1993, gaining his stature as a statesman by rising from freshman lawmaker to Vice Chairman of the House Ways and Means Committee, where his experience in economic development proved an invaluable asset to the committee, and culminating in his 2004 appointment to serve as Chairman of the House Medicaid Committee, in addition to serving as a member of the House Constitution, Education, Fees and Salaries of Public Officers and Municipalities Committees; and

     WHEREAS, during his tenure in the House, Representative Morris demonstrated a steadfast commitment to his constituency, positioning himself to take a leading role in virtually every meaningful economic development, educational, health care and medical insurance reform measure that has been addressed by the Mississippi Legislature; and

     WHEREAS, demonstrating that he was one of the rare leaders who was able to lead effectively while promoting and protecting the strength of the Legislature, Representative Morris was known to be a fair and evenhanded steward of the legislative process with a calm and respectful demeanor towards his colleagues and a willing and tenacious spirit to act in the best interests of the citizens of this state; and

     WHEREAS, Representative Morris' leadership abilities have been recognized nationally, having served on the Energy and Environment Committee of the Southern Legislative Conference of the Council of State Governments and as a member of the Board of Trustees for the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS), serving as president during the merger of SACS and the North Central Association; and

     WHEREAS, Representative Morris was widely admired for his talent in building consensus amongst his legislative colleagues, regardless of the issue at hand, and the members of the House relied on that talent in the face of challenging legislative deliberations; and

     WHEREAS, in addition to his career as a realtor and statesman, Representative Morris was a faithful member of Concord Missionary Baptist Church, as well as a devoted husband to wife, Belinda Faye Morris, and father of two daughters, Lenora and Lillian, who have supported their husband and father in all of his endeavors; and

     WHEREAS, having served his constituents and the entire citizenry of Mississippi to the utmost of his ability during his legislative career, the contributions that Representative Morris have made will never be forgotten, as the members of the House of Representatives express their sincere appreciation for the life of Representative Morris, for his dedicated service to the people of the State of Mississippi and for the personal sacrifices that he has made on their behalf:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, That we do hereby commend the life, legacy and accomplishments of our friend and colleague, the Honorable Representative Leonard Morris, for all that he has meant to the Mississippi House of Representatives and for his unmatched contributions to the people of the State of Mississippi, and express our deepest sympathy to his family upon his passing.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to the family of Representative Morris and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.