2007 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Chism, Morgan, Akins, Aldridge, Baker (74th), Beckett, Brown, Denny, Fleming, Gregory, Harrison, Mayo, McBride, Montgomery, Nicholson, Reed, Robinson (84th), Rogers (61st), Smith (39th), Smith (59th), Snowden, Stevens, Ward, Arinder, Bailey, Baker (8th), Banks, Barnett, Blackmon, Bondurant, Bounds, Broomfield, Buck, Burnett, Calhoun, Clark, Clarke, Cockerham, Coleman (29th), Coleman (65th), Compretta, Cummings, Davis, Dedeaux, Dickson, Eaton, Ellington, Ellis, Espy, Evans, Fillingane, Flaggs, Formby, Franks, Fredericks, Frierson, Gadd, Gibbs, Guice, Gunn, Hamilton (109th), Hamilton (6th), Hines, Holland, Holloway, Horne, Howell, Huddleston, Hudson, Ishee, Janus, Jennings, Johnson, Lane, Lott, Malone, Markham, Martinson, Masterson, Mayhall, McCoy, Middleton, Miles, Mims, Moak, Moore, Moss, Myers, Norquist, Palazzo, Parker, Patterson, Peranich, Perkins, Read, Reeves, Reynolds, Robinson (63rd), Rogers (14th), Rotenberry, Scott, Shows, Simpson, Smith (27th), Staples, Straughter, Stringer, Sullivan, Thomas, Turner, Upshaw, Vince, Walley, Warren, Watson, Weathersby, Wells-Smith, Whittington, Woods, Young, Zuber

House Concurrent Resolution 69


     WHEREAS, the Mississippi Legislature created the Mississippi University for Women (MUW) on March 12, 1884, the first public college for women in America; and

     WHEREAS, in 1988 the Board of Trustees of Institutions of Higher Learning reaffirmed the mission of MUW's quality academic programs for all qualified students with emphasis on distinctive opportunities for women; and

     WHEREAS, thousands of women and men have graduated from MUW; and

     WHEREAS, for over 117 years the alumni of MUW have loyally supported the university financially and with their time and energy; and

     WHEREAS, the Board of Trustees of Institutions of Higher Learning has mandated that all eight of Mississippi's public universities enter into affiliation agreements with their perspective alumni associations and further that such associations would continue to be independent organizations; and

     WHEREAS, the university has entered into an institutions of higher learning mandated affiliation agreement on October 25, 2006, with the MUW Alumni Association to govern the relationship between the university and the association; and

     WHEREAS, the alumni association has submitted bylaws for review and approval and worked in good faith with the university; and

     WHEREAS, out of all eight public universities only the MUW Alumni Association has been asked to give control of the election of its officers to the Mississippi University for Women or their affiliation agreement would be revoked; and

     WHEREAS, the President of Mississippi University for Women refuses to approve the bylaws without language that limits the alumni association's ability to elect officers of their choice and has given notice that she has disaffiliated from the association:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That the Legislature urges the Mississippi University for Women to maintain its relationship with the current alumni association, which has served the university for 117 years, and to resolve the dispute with the alumni association by giving the alumni association of MUW the same voting rights of all other alumni associations.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to the Governor and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.