2007 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Ward

House Concurrent Resolution 68

(As Adopted by House and Senate)


     WHEREAS, the Ripley High School Tiger Marching Band was awarded the 2006 Class 3A State Marching Band Championship; and

     WHEREAS, this outstanding band achieved this honor after a show stopping performance entitled, "007, James Bond"; and

     WHEREAS, the Ripley Band Program has a long, rich history in winning prestigious band awards, as evidenced by this state title, which also included the band's placing first in music, second in marching, second in general effect, first in percussion and third in guard during the preliminary rounds of competition; and

     WHEREAS, the Tiger Band has been superbly instructed and directed by Sam Cunningham, Tammye Hight, David Epting and student teacher, Ben Mitchell, who have broadened the members knowledge of music and refined their skills in execution; and

     WHEREAS, members of the Ripley High School Tiger Band include:  Teresa Argueta, Mary Alan Bailey, Tanisha Barkley, Gary Barnes, Justin Berryman, Tony Black, Daniella Bonilla, Tiffany Brady, Emily Bramlett, Whitley Brotherton, Lacey Brougham, Kelsey Brown, Julia Bullock, Ashley Carroll, Jameka Carroll, Joshua Carruth, Hillary Clark, Emily Clemmer, Katie Conley, Benjamin Cook, Deonta Cook, Alese Cooper, Amanda Cooper, Brittni Danielle Cox, Lanaesha Cox, Blake Crose, Shelby Davis, Justin Driver, Brooke Elliot, Heather Fallon, Patricia Fallon, Kayla Frazier, Chyrone Gaines, Courtney Gibens, Ben Graddy, Joseph Graddy, Bethany Grant, Bryan Graves, Jessica Graves, Candice Green, Jessica Grisham, Keith Grisham, Ashley Gullap, Chase Hall, Chelsea Hall, Molly Hardin, Kate Haynes, Vanna Hobson, C.J. Hopper, Antonio Johnson, Derrick Johnson, Nakia Johnson, Shamontae Johnson, Troydarius Johnson, Heather Joshlin, Blake Kuykendall, Laurin Landsell, Estavia Lee, Katie Lence, Kesha Lewellen, Molly Mauney, Forrest McCalmon, Xzeaiver McDonald, Grace McMillan, Hillary Medlin, Kerri Miller, Jeffrey Moffitt, Laura Morgan, Dana Morton, Devin Morton, Kelly Morton, Jonathan Nabors, Kacey Noe, Jalapeno Pate, Amber Prather, Aaron Presley, Dylan Rainey, Liliana Rangel, Joseph Reaves, Katie Reaves, Megan Reaves, Katie Richardson, Victoria Roberts, Bryson Rogan, Trendy Rogan, Trista Rogan, Amberly Rogers, Erika Ruedas, Isamara Ruedas, Justin Rutherford, Amanda Shelton, Caitelan Shelton, Nic Shelton, Jacob Simpson, Will Simpson, Randy Slocomb, Aaron Smith, Rod Smith, David Stafford, Adam Standford, Tiffany Stark, Geordi Talley, Chelsey Vance, Eddie Wayne Vance, Brent Walden, Amanda Walker, Janisha West, Jasmin Willingham and LeAnna Young; adjunct band staff, Andy Allen, Ben McLemore, Joanna Grissom, Stephanie Stubbs, Dustin Thrasher, Jason Gunn and Bryan Mitchell; band aides, Mitch Farris, Chris Vanslyke, Carrie Simpson, Neshia Norton, Nolan Hill, Celeste Pearson, Whitney Stepp and Sherrod Smith; and

     WHEREAS, the Tiger Band has developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a superb degree of sportsmanship, and their activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual players and their coaches and bring great honor to Ripley High School; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize the special accomplishments of such an outstanding group of student musicians who have brought honor to their school, their parents, their community and to the State of Mississippi:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend the Ripley High School Tiger Marching Band and their directors for winning the 2006 Class 3A State Marching Band Championship.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to the band directors, Sam Cunningham and Tammy Hight, Principal of Ripley High School and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.