2006 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Clarke, Dearing, Simmons, Walls

Senate Resolution 51


     WHEREAS, Jasper Johnson, 6'7" Forward from Hollandale, Mississippi, capped a stellar Senior season at Delta State University by taking home the Cellular South Howell Trophy as the state's top college player at a four-year school; and

     WHEREAS, Johnson, who transferred to the Division II school after spending his first three seasons at Division I University of Southern Mississippi, beat out two D-I players for the award:  Mississippi State University Forward Charles Rhodes and Jackson State University Guard Trey Johnson.  Fifty-one media members from the state submitted votes for the award; and

     WHEREAS, Delta State Senior Center Jasper Johnson was named the NCAA Division II National Player of the Year by Daktronics and Basketball Times on March 21, 2006, by a vote of the nation's media and coaches.  The Hollandale native is the first Statesman to garner the nation's top individual honor.  He averaged 20.6 points and 8.2 rebounds a game with a 555.5% field-goal mark; and

     WHEREAS, the Cellular South Howell Trophy is awarded annually to Mississippi's top men's college basketball player; and

     WHEREAS, Jasper Johnson led Delta State in all offensive categories en route to the school's best record ever at 30-2, a mark that included a 26-game win streak; he earned Division II All-South Region and Gulf South Conference Player of the Year honors with his 20.5 points and 8.2 rebounds per game; and

     WHEREAS, Delta State University's Jasper Johnson and Jeremy Richardson were named to the NCAA Division II All-Star Game as part of the NCAA Elite Eight Championship weekend in Springfield, Massachusetts.  The Statesmen duo represented the South Region.  Jasper Johnson was also selected to the All-GSC First Team; and

     WHEREAS, "I've gone through some changes, but it has really been a special year for me," Johnson said while embracing his grandmother, Mildred Causey, during the awards ceremony at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum.  "I've felt great this entire year.  So tonight I really feel no different.  But I do realize that everything has all kind of built up to this time right here"; and

     WHEREAS, after accepting the award, named after former MSU and Boston Celtics great Bailey Howell, Jasper talked about how hard work helped him overcome a few of the obstacles in his past.  Johnson's college basketball career was nearly derailed before it started.  He suffered severe damage to one of his shoulders and multiple fractures in his foot and leg in a car accident just before the start of his Freshman season at USM.  But he fought his way back onto the court; and

     WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize this magical season by an outstanding athlete who has brought honor to his university, his community and to the State of Mississippi:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate Senior Forward Jasper Johnson who led the Delta State University "Statesmen" to their best season in history and for winning the coveted Cellular South Howell Trophy, and extend to him the best wishes of the Senate for his future successes.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to Jasper Johnson and be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.