2006 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Walls, Simmons, Clarke

Senate Concurrent Resolution 589

(As Adopted by Senate and House)


     WHEREAS, in just its fourth year of football, the Benoit-Ray Brooks High School "Tigers" defeated Mount Olive 52-33 on Saturday, December 3, 2005, to win the State Title.  The Tigers, led by veteran Delta Coach Lewis "Butch" Inmon, finished the season 14-0; and

     WHEREAS, Class 1A State Champion Ray Brooks finished atop the final Mississippi Associated Press High School Football Poll released after the season.  The rankings were determined by a panel of eight sportswriters across the state; and

     WHEREAS, Ray Brooks and Mount Olive went blow-for-blow for a quarter and a half, but just like all previous games this season, it was a matter of time before the Tigers started wearing down the Pirates' defense.  The result:  a commanding 52-33 win for the State 1A Title; and

     WHEREAS, it was a case of Mount Olive's Jason McNair (nephew of Steve McNair) versus Ray Brooks' six horsemen, Running Backs Cordero Ireland, Devarcus Ireland, Kozialski Nelson, Timothy Graham, Cornelius Lindsey and Wayne Leslie; and

     WHEREAS, Ray Brooks High School is the smallest school in the State of Mississippi, with an enrollment of under 300 students, and with this victory, the student body and the Community of Benoit went home with a first-time football championship to call their own; and

     WHEREAS, Ray Brooks High School is only in its fifth year of existence and its fourth year of organized football; originally, the students in Benoit attended West Bolivar in Rosedale, but these students have a new school to attend and another championship to celebrate as their own; and

     WHEREAS, the Tigers were a very physical team, ably coached by Head Coach Lewis "Butch" Inmon and Assistant Coaches Jerry Walker, Hiawathia Brown and Peris Leonard; and

     WHEREAS, the 2005 roster of this championship team is as follows:  Rod Baldridge (WR/DB), Chris Brooks (C/DE), Robert Farris (G/DL), Leslie Gardner (T/DL), Timothy Graham (RB/LB), Jesse Hunter (WR/DB), Cordero Ireland (RB/LB), Devarcus Ireland (RB/E), Robert Johnson (G/LB), Pierre Jordan (T/DL), Damian Leslie (TE/LB), David Leslie (WR/S), Keyardus Leslie (TE/DE), Wayne Leslie (RB/DB), Anthony Lewis (WR/DB), Cornelius Lindsey (RB/LB), Deonte Matthews (WR/DE), Travis McGee (QB/DB), Derrick Mitchell (G/DL), Cornelius Myles (G/DL), Eric Nelson (TE/S), Kozialski Nelson (RB/DB), Jimarcus Petty (WR/DB), Wally Phillips (T/DL), Anthony Rivera (WR/LB), Kenny Thomas (WR/LB), Derrick Washington (G/DL), Damian White (T/DL) and Alex Wilson (TE/LB); and

     WHEREAS, it is with pride that we recognize the special accomplishments of this team which brought honor and identity to their school, their community and to the State of Mississippi:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Benoit-Ray Brooks High School "Tigers" Football Team, Head Coach Lewis "Butch" Inmon, Principal Brenda Hopson and Superintendent Dr. Suzanne Hawley for their State Class 1A Championship and their outstanding 2005-2006 season, and extend to them the best wishes of the Legislature for future scholastic and athletic successes.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to Coach Inmon and the team and the Principal of Benoit-Ray Brooks High School, Brenda Hopson, and be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.