2006 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Turner

Senate Concurrent Resolution 564

(As Adopted by Senate and House)


     WHEREAS, the West Point High School "Green Wave" Football Team sacked the Wayne County Quarterback on back-to-back plays to preserve a heart-stopping 17-15 victory for the Class 4A State Championship on Saturday, December 10, 2005, before an estimated 11,500 crowd at Mississippi Veterans Memorial Stadium; and

     WHEREAS, West Point, ranked No. 6 in The Clarion-Ledger Super 10 and No. 2 in 4A, finished with a 14-1 record; and

     WHEREAS, it was the fifth state football crown for West Point, and the first since 1989.  The Green Wave team won four Class 4A state titles in the 1980s but was moved to 5A for 2003-2004.  It returned to 4A just before this school year where Wayne County had been the toughest team in that class in West Point's absence.  That torch was returned following this game, which MAC 4A Coach of the Year Dennis Allen described as a "big-time" upset over a team which had the advantage in size, speed, power and game experience, but the Green Wave team expected to win, and did; and

     WHEREAS, West Point's offense is led by Quarterback Cliff Bailey and Tailback Chris Matthews, but it was West Point's defense, and Senior Tackle Lemarcus Witherspoon in particular, that saved the day in the championship game; and

     WHEREAS, the roster of the Green Wave team is as follows:  Antron Davidson, DB; Demarius Doss, LB; Cliff Bailey, QB-WR; Eldrick Hogan, WR; Mario Cannon, DB; Derrick Boyd, DB; Travis Walker, QB-WR; Courtney Brooks, WR; Jamar Shelton, WR; Chris Matthews, RB; Parrance Ward, WR; Jonathan Shelton, WR; Reshun Randle, WR; Cory Cannon, DB; Xavier Ewing, DL; C.J. Foster, DB; Phillip Domino, QB-WR; Britton Atkinson, RB; Charlie Davidson, RB; Davin Bascombe, LB; Dequatus Saul, DB; Marvin Hoskins, DB; Dexter Shelton, DB; Jimmy Reed, DB; Thomas Gordon, WR; Mario Cox, LB; Terrell Virges, LB; Rod Owens, DB; James King, DB; James Ewing, LB; Antonio Chandler, DL; Chicosy Ewing, RB; Trevea Williams, WR; Chris Rupert, DL; David Tollison, WR; Raffell Larry, WR; Rasheed Mitchell, DE; Zack Brown, LB; Kaleb Rush, LB; Darren Hart, WR; Justin Travice, DL; Todd Andrews, DL; Avis Shelton, OL; Roderick Walker, OL; Lashaun Hopkins, LB; Alex Hill, LB; Jeremy Jones, DL; Quartney Cox, OL; Michael Heard, DL; Charles Johnson, OL; Lamarcus Witherspoon, DL; Roosevelt Cunningham, OL; Trevail Gandy, DL; Jimmy Smith, DL; Lemarcus Mitchell, DL; Cornelius Devine, DL; Maurice Heard, DL; Jon Lane, OL; Chris Smith, OL; Flentress Murdock, DL; Andrew King, OL; Demarcus Walker, OL; Jason Brand, OL; Martin Edwarwds, DL; Kedrick Rush, OL; Robert Gaston, DL; Carlos Cole, DB; Chris McFarland, DB; Davis Manning, OL; and Austin Berry, DB; Head Football Coach Dennis Allen, MAC 4A Coach of the Year; Athletic Director, Bobby Richardson; Assistant Coaches:  Chris Chambless, Ashley Kuhn, Lee Grisham, Ricky Melton, Flozell Wilson, David King, Brent Miley, Eddie Chapman, Clint Hoots, Kendall Pickens, Michael Brown and Josh Davis; and

     WHEREAS, the 2005 Mississippi Association of Coaches All-State Team members are:  Offense:  Kendrick Rush, Chris Matthews, Jon Lane and Eldrick Hogan; Defense:  Lemarius Witherspoon, James Ewing, Alex Hill, Derrick Boyd, Kaleb Rush and Jamar Shelton; and

     WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the accomplishments of this championship team which has brought honor to their school, their community and to the State of Mississippi:   NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the West Point High School "Green Wave" Football Team and Head Coach Dennis Allen for winning the Class 4A State Championship and extend to them the best wishes of the Legislature in their future athletic and academic endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to Principal Bobby Richardson and Coach Dennis Allen on behalf of the team and be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.