2006 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Mettetal, Browning, Davis, Dearing, Frazier, Jackson (11th), Jackson (32nd), Little, Nunnelee, Robertson

Senate Concurrent Resolution 541


     WHEREAS, the No. 7 nationally ranked South Panola High School "Tigers" Football Team dominated the Meridian Wildcats in the MHSAA State Championship game by an overwhelming score of 52-14 on Friday, December 9, 2005, at Mississippi Veterans Memorial Stadium in Jackson, Mississippi; and

     WHEREAS, the Tigers pulled off a "3-Peat" and thus preserved a 45-game win streak with the championship victory, joining the ranks of only three other teams since state championships have been played in Mississippi to complete such a feat (the only other teams to win 3-Peats were in 1A, 2A and 4A); and

     WHEREAS, for this championship season and game before a large television audience, The Clarion-Ledger named South Panola Head Football Coach Ricky Woods the "2005 Coach of the Year."  Coach Woods was also the Mississippi Coach's Association (MAC) choice for 2003 and 2004, and he gave most of the credit to his coaching staff:  Willis Wright, Arnie Oakes, John Davis, Trenell Edwards, Mark Weaver, Lucian King and Michael Fair; and

     WHEREAS, the Tigers have amassed a 59-1 four-year record under Coach Woods.  Their 45-game winning streak is the third longest active streak in the nation.  Its third consecutive 5A state championship brings the total championships to five for the school; and

     WHEREAS, South Panola had three players make the All-State Football Team:  senior offensive linemen Josh Boren and South Oakes; and junior linebacker Chris Strong.  Making the second team offense were senior wide receiver Rodney Gray and sophomore lineman Cameron Wagner.  Senior running back Rickey Sanford was named the State's Player of the Week during the season; and

     WHEREAS, another factor contributing to the excitement of the game was the meeting of former South Panola Head Coach Ed Stanley (who was a successful coach at South Panola) as he directed the Meridian Wildcats to capture the elusive Gold Ball Trophy; and

     WHEREAS, the Tigers won the Region 1 Divisional and the North Half Championship on their way to the state championship, and the roster of the team is as follows:  Chris Strong LB; Jeramie Griffin FB; Germichael Sanford TB; Kerry Hoskins DB; Tarus Young LB; Mario Nash QB; Ricky Sanford TB; Montez Austin DB; Kevin Young LB; Rickyus Barksdale LB; Justin Harris DE; Karreem Carr DB; Reuben Corley LB; Darius Barksdale CB; Tristan Gleaton WR; Leroy Diggs QB; Justin Market TB; Travius Butler SE; Chris Butler CB; Dominique Middleton DE; Kesrick Goins DB; Danny Humphrey DB; Barrett Johnson K; Rashad Mackey DB; David Harris FS; Rodney Diggs LB; Jeremy Harris LB; Maurice Market LB; Carl Sowden LB; Germichael Williams LB; Joshua Shipp LB; Demario Kincaid LB; Terrance Griffin TB; Darryl Thomas LB; Justin Carothers CB; Vandell Pollard TE; Quin Sanford TE; Marlon Wilks DE; Tradaeus Burgess FS; Jevon Robertson LB; Josh Boren C; Demario Lewis DT; Garret Stone OL; Teddy Flowers DT; David Baker OL; South Oakes OL; Jarred Draper DT; Deshun Sandridge DT; Dustin Pell OL; Larry Milton OL; Cordarrius McMurry OL; Justin Hardrick DE; J.R. Irvin OL; Cameron Wagner OL; Hunter Bailey OL; Rashad Bell TE; Jonathan Wilson OL; Elbert Smith DL; Barry Jones DT; Adam McCachren LB; Demetrius Dunn SE; Kendrick Gray SE; Terrance Pope TE; Wesley Jefferson LB; Rodney Gray SE; Okoya McGee SE; Milton Williams TE; Jeremy Johnson LB; and Charles Corley DE; and

     WHEREAS, the team was heavily supported by the hometown crowd and band, on and off the field, which was particularly evident in games on the road; and it is with great pride that we again salute the championship season of this team of student athletes who have brought honor to their school, their community and to the State of Mississippi:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the South Panola High School "Tigers" Football Team and Clarion-Ledger Coach of the Year Ricky Woods for their third consecutive MHSAA Class 5A State Championship, their 2005 undefeated (15-0) season and their unprecedented "3-Peat" and we wish them continued success in their quest for an unprecedented "4-Peat."

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to Principal Dr. Gearl Loden, Superintendent Dr. Keith Shaffer and Head Coach Ricky Woods for the "Tigers" and be made available to The Panolian and to members of the Capitol Press Corps.