2006 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Upshaw, Akins, Banks, Beckett, Bondurant, Broomfield, Calhoun, Carlton, Cockerham, Coleman (29th), Cummings, Denny, Evans, Flaggs, Fleming, Formby, Fredericks, Frierson, Gadd, Guice, Gunn, Hamilton (109th), Hines, Holland, Hudson, Ishee, Jennings, Lane, Markham, Martinson, Montgomery, Moore, Moss, Parker, Peranich, Perkins, Read, Reeves, Robinson (84th), Rogers (14th), Rogers (61st), Rotenberry, Simpson, Smith (27th), Smith (59th), Snowden, Staples, Sullivan, Thomas, Ward, Watson, Wells-Smith, Whittington, Woods, Zuber

House Resolution 93


     WHEREAS, NASCAR racing legend, Dale Earnhardt, was born on April 29, 1951; and

     WHEREAS, with 76 victories during his career, including seven Winston Cup Championships, four IROC Championships, 10 wins at Talladega Superspeedway, and 34 wins at Daytona International Speedway, Dale Earnhardt was truly the face of NASCAR, inspiring fans throughout Mississippi and the nation with his skill on the track; and

     WHEREAS, known as "The Intimidator," Dale Earnhardt, at the wheel of the No. 3 car, created a legacy in Mississippi amassing so many wins; and

     WHEREAS, Dale Ernhardt changed the sport of racing, bridging past, present and future generations of fans by upholding the finest NASCAR traditions while remaining a cutting-edge competitor throughout the entirety of his career; and

     WHEREAS, Dale Earnhardt's tragic death on February 18, 2001, deeply touched countless people, and the loss of this great icon of auto racing and his presence at tracks across the country will be missed for generations to come:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby designate April 29, 2006, as Dale Earnhardt Day.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to the family of Dale Earnhardt and to the Capitol Press Corps.