2006 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Stringer, Warren, Akins (By Request), Aldridge (By Request), Arinder (By Request), Bailey (By Request), Baker (74th) (By Request), Baker (8th) (By Request), Banks (By Request), Barnett (By Request), Beckett (By Request), Bentz (By Request), Blackmon (By Request), Bondurant (By Request), Bounds (By Request), Broomfield (By Request), Brown (By Request), Buck (By Request), Burnett (By Request), Calhoun (By Request), Carlton (By Request), Chism (By Request), Clark (By Request), Clarke (By Request), Cockerham (By Request), Coleman (29th) (By Request), Coleman (65th) (By Request), Compretta (By Request), Cummings (By Request), Davis (By Request), Dedeaux (By Request), Denny (By Request), Dickson (By Request), Eaton (By Request), Ellington (By Request), Ellis (By Request), Espy (By Request), Evans (By Request), Fillingane (By Request), Flaggs (By Request), Fleming (By Request), Formby (By Request), Franks (By Request), Fredericks (By Request), Frierson (By Request), Gadd (By Request), Gibbs (By Request), Gregory (By Request), Guice (By Request), Gunn (By Request), Hamilton (109th) (By Request), Hamilton (6th) (By Request), Harrison (By Request), Hines (By Request), Holland (By Request), Holloway (By Request), Horne (By Request), Howell (By Request), Huddleston (By Request), Hudson (By Request), Ishee (By Request), Janus (By Request), Jennings (By Request), Johnson (By Request), Lane (By Request), Lott (By Request), Malone (By Request), Markham (By Request), Martinson (By Request), Masterson (By Request), Mayhall (By Request), Mayo (By Request), McBride (By Request), McCoy (By Request), Middleton (By Request), Miles (By Request), Mims (By Request), Moak (By Request), Montgomery (By Request), Moore (By Request), Morris (By Request), Moss (By Request), Myers (By Request), Nicholson (By Request), Norquist (By Request), Parker (By Request), Patterson (By Request), Peranich (By Request), Perkins (By Request), Read (By Request), Reed (By Request), Reeves (By Request), Reynolds (By Request), Robinson (63rd) (By Request), Robinson (84th) (By Request), Rogers (14th) (By Request), Rogers (61st) (By Request), Rotenberry (By Request), Scott (By Request), Shows (By Request), Simpson (By Request), Smith (27th) (By Request), Smith (39th) (By Request), Smith (59th) (By Request), Snowden (By Request), Staples (By Request), Stevens (By Request), Straughter (By Request), Sullivan (By Request), Thomas (By Request), Turner (By Request), Upshaw (By Request), Vince (By Request), Walley (By Request), Ward (By Request), Watson (By Request), Weathersby (By Request), Wells-Smith (By Request), Whittington (By Request), Woods (By Request), Young (By Request), Zuber (By Request)

House Resolution 83

(As Adopted by House)


     WHEREAS, the departure of Mr. E. Howard Eaton from this life on September 25, 2005, caused the community of Taylorsville, Mississippi, and Smith County to suffer the great loss of a fine man from within the community; and

     WHEREAS, he was born on May 7, 1937, to Elaine Ford Eaton and the late Blaine H. Eaton; and

     WHEREAS, his life was shared with a loving wife, Jimmie King Eaton, for 47 years; and

     WHEREAS, to this beautiful union three children were born:  Lisa Eaton McMahon, Katie Eaton Herrington and the Honorable Representative Blaine H. (Bo) Eaton II; and

     WHEREAS, to cherish his wonderful memory, Mr. Eaton leaves seven grandchildren:  Ashlin Eaton McMahon, James Howard McMahon III, John Haskin McMahon, Kellie Eaton Herrington, Blaine H. Eaton III (Tripp), Allie Elaine Eaton and Howard Ford Eaton; and three sisters, Suzanne E. Jordan, Sally E. Wooten and Ellie E. McMorris; and

     WHEREAS, Mr. Eaton served in the Army National Guard 785th 3rd Platoon Transportation Company from 1955-1961 and was a graduate of Mississippi State University and Louisiana State University School of Banking and received his juris doctorate degree in 1972 from the Jackson School of Law; and

     WHEREAS, he practiced law until his death and held a number of positions for Taylorsville, Mississippi, such as, attorney for Taylorsville, Youth Court Referee for the Thirteenth Chancery District from 1990-1994, and attorney for the Smith County Board of Supervisors for 17 years; and

     WHEREAS, not only did he practice law, he was an avid sportsman and forest land owner; and

     WHEREAS, while serving as Vice President of Smith County Bank from 1951-1969, and a member of the Taylorsville Industrial Development Corporation, Mr. Eaton was instrumental in the economic expansion in Taylorsville, including bringing such companies as Georgia Pacific Corporation, Taylorsville Manufacturing, Automatic Plating and Solar Hardware to the area; and

     WHEREAS, always one to serve the community, he served on the State and County Democratic Executive Committee, Taylorsville Lions Club, Rotary Club, Hiram Lodge 349 F&AM and a charter member of the Taylorsville Volunteer Fire Department; and

     WHEREAS, being a man of faith, he was a member of the First Baptist Church of Taylorsville for over 50 years, where he served as a deacon, senior men's Sunday School teacher and trustee; and

     WHEREAS, as a loved and appreciated friend of the New Hopewell Missionary Baptist Church, he was honored on June 9, 2000, for his then 45 years of friendship and service to the church and its individual members; and

     WHEREAS, he was preceded in death by his brother, Mark H. Eaton; and

     WHEREAS, Mr. Eaton was a well-loved and respected man of Taylorsville, Mississippi, and Smith County, who will be missed by a host of friends; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to recognize outstanding citizens such as Mr. Howard Eaton:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend the life and legacy of Mr. E. Howard Eaton and express our deepest sympathy to his family and friends upon his passing.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to the family of Mr. E. Howard Eaton and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.