2006 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Perkins, Akins (By Request), Aldridge (By Request), Arinder (By Request), Bailey (By Request), Baker (74th) (By Request), Baker (8th) (By Request), Banks (By Request), Barnett (By Request), Beckett (By Request), Bentz (By Request), Blackmon (By Request), Bondurant (By Request), Bounds (By Request), Broomfield (By Request), Brown (By Request), Buck (By Request), Burnett (By Request), Calhoun (By Request), Carlton (By Request), Chism (By Request), Clark (By Request), Clarke (By Request), Cockerham (By Request), Coleman (29th) (By Request), Coleman (65th) (By Request), Compretta (By Request), Cummings (By Request), Davis (By Request), Dedeaux (By Request), Denny (By Request), Dickson (By Request), Eaton (By Request), Ellington (By Request), Ellis (By Request), Espy (By Request), Evans (By Request), Fillingane (By Request), Flaggs (By Request), Fleming (By Request), Formby (By Request), Franks (By Request), Fredericks (By Request), Frierson (By Request), Gadd (By Request), Gibbs (By Request), Gregory (By Request), Guice (By Request), Gunn (By Request), Hamilton (109th) (By Request), Hamilton (6th) (By Request), Harrison (By Request), Hines (By Request), Holland (By Request), Holloway (By Request), Horne (By Request), Howell (By Request), Huddleston (By Request), Hudson (By Request), Ishee (By Request), Janus (By Request), Jennings (By Request), Johnson (By Request), Lane (By Request), Lott (By Request), Malone (By Request), Markham (By Request), Martinson (By Request), Masterson (By Request), Mayhall (By Request), Mayo (By Request), McBride (By Request), McCoy (By Request), Middleton (By Request), Miles (By Request), Mims (By Request), Moak (By Request), Montgomery (By Request), Moore (By Request), Morris (By Request), Moss (By Request), Myers (By Request), Nicholson (By Request), Norquist (By Request), Parker (By Request), Patterson (By Request), Peranich (By Request), Read (By Request), Reed (By Request), Reeves (By Request), Reynolds (By Request), Robinson (63rd) (By Request), Robinson (84th) (By Request), Rogers (14th) (By Request), Rogers (61st) (By Request), Rotenberry (By Request), Scott (By Request), Shows (By Request), Simpson (By Request), Smith (27th) (By Request), Smith (39th) (By Request), Smith (59th) (By Request), Snowden (By Request), Staples (By Request), Stevens (By Request), Straughter (By Request), Stringer (By Request), Sullivan (By Request), Thomas (By Request), Turner (By Request), Upshaw (By Request), Vince (By Request), Walley (By Request), Ward (By Request), Warren (By Request), Watson (By Request), Weathersby (By Request), Wells-Smith (By Request), Whittington (By Request), Woods (By Request), Young (By Request), Zuber (By Request)

House Resolution 82

(As Adopted by House)


     WHEREAS, Dr. Annie Bell Lowery, born December 26, 1940, to Mr. and Mrs. Pearlie Bell of Starkville, Mississippi, departed this earthly life on March 19, 2006, to enter into eternal rest with her Heavenly Father, causing great sorrow and loss to her family and friends; and

     WHEREAS, with a father and mother who stressed the importance of education and personal initiative, Dr. Lowery, after completing high school in Oktibbeha County Public Schools, earned a bachelor's degree from Mississippi Vocational College (MVSU), and then furthered her education by earning a master's degree in elementary education from Indiana University in 1970 and her doctorate in elementary education from the University of Oregon in 1975; and

     WHEREAS, in 1961, Dr. Lowery met her husband-to-be Dr. Marvlee Lowery, Jr., whom she married on June 18, 1966, and from this union was born their lovely daughter, LeAndra M. Lowery, in 1978; and

     WHEREAS, Professor Lowery retired as Director of Field Experiences at Mississippi Valley State University on July 31, 2003, after 33 years of dedicated and exemplary service to her alma mater, its students and administration; and

     WHEREAS, Dr. Lowery was a member of Samuel Chapel United Methodist Church in Itta Bena, Mississippi, and was also quite active as a leader and participant in many professional and social organizations; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to recognize and commend the life and accomplishments of such dedicated individuals as Dr. Lowery, whose life was an inspiration to all with whom she came in contact:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend the life of Dr. Annie Bell Lowery and express our deepest sympathy to her family and friends upon her passing.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to the family of Dr. Lowery and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.