2006 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Ward

House Resolution 41


     WHEREAS, Pine Grove Future Farmers of America (FFA) students had an exceptional year in 2005 by winning eight state championships over the course of two state events; and

     WHEREAS, Pine Grove High School, home to an outstanding chapter of the FFA, was well represented by 26 teams at the 2005 State Contest, where 24 of the 26 competing teams faired exceptionally well, placing in the top three at the state level and bringing great honor to Pine Grove High School; and

     WHEREAS, the Junior Horse Evaluation Team comprised of Emily Bates, Amber Bryant, April Stroupe and Ethan Dains completed a written exam and judged five classes during the competition to clinch the state title; and

     WHEREAS, the Junior Dairy Foods Team comprised of Laura Burcham, Rachel Luna, Heather Bridges and Chelsea Moore completed the same categories as the senior team to take the State Championship their first time out; and

     WHEREAS, the dairy judging contest, which is comprised of  evaluation, linear evaluation, pedigree selection and herd evaluation, was taken by the junior team comprised of Logan Dixon, Michael Pannell, Chris Medlin and Nikki Tuberville completed all of these categories to take the State Championship; and

     WHEREAS, the Senior Tool ID Team comprised of Heather Loveless, Janet Self, Cory Mauney and Kevin Ralph earned the right to compete at the state level by qualifying through the federation and district contests and in state competition the team correctly identified more than 60 tools to secure the first Tool ID State Championship in Pine Grove history by posting perfect scores throughout the event; and

     WHEREAS, the Senior Livestock Judging Team comprised of Nicole Gibens, Audra Jones, Anna Palmer and Ashley Wilkerson judged five placing classes, graded a class of slaughter cattle, a class of feeder cattle, took a written exam and gave two sets of oral reasons to win the State Championship in the most hotly contested competition in the FFA, edging out 17 other teams; and

     WHEREAS, the Agriculture Communications Team comprised of Heather Loveless, Janet Self, Ashley Harmon and Haley Hurt completed a written proposal, made a presentation to a group of judges in a mock sales meeting and the team also completed a written exam and four individual practicums to take top honors and advance to the national level; and

     WHEREAS, the Agriculture Issues Team comprised of April Lovell, Ben Adams, Lindsay Whitaker, Wesley Mauney and Megan Jones completed research and a scrapbook of activities before presenting a forum on the usage of genetically modified crops; and

     WHEREAS, the Junior Parliamentary Procedure Team comprised of Emily Bates, Ben Adams, April Stroupe, Holley Hurt, Cody Hurt and Michael Winker completed a written exam and performed a skit demonstrating their abilities in parliamentary procedure to take top honors; and

     WHEREAS, the Pine Grove High School FFA Team has been superbly coached and inspired by faculty advisor John-Grady Taylor; and

     WHEREAS, a winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree of skill and knowledge have been developed by the Pine Grove FFA Team, and their activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual members and their advisor and bring much honor to Pine Grove High School; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to recognize and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the youth of our state, who are its future:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Pine Grove High School FFA Team and their advisor, John-Grady Taylor, for their outstanding accomplishments in 2005, for winning eight Future Farmers of America State Championships and for displaying tireless devotion to their academic endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Pine Grove High School, Advisor John-Grady Taylor and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.