2006 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Weathersby, Holloway, Barnett, Hudson

House Resolution 26


     WHEREAS, the Copiah Academy Football team was successfully coached by Coaches Mitch Mitchell, Lance Teasley and Scotty Cline; and

     WHEREAS, the Copiah Academy Football Team finished the 2005 season with an exceptional record of 11-2, and are the District 3AA Champions, the South State AA Champions and the State AA Runner-ups; and

     WHEREAS, a number of players of the Copiah Academy Football Team have been recognized for their hard work, dedication and superior play this season, including the naming of three players to the MPSA All-State Team:  Danny Pyles, 1st team linebacker; David Brunt, 2nd team defensive back and Wil Ervin, 2nd team defensive end; and

     WHEREAS, ten players have been named to the All-District Team, which includes Danny Pyles as the Most Valuable Defensive Player, David Brunt as the Most Valuable Offensive Player, Wil Ervin as the defensive end/tight end, Kent Miller as the defensive end, Scott Akin, Jake Guess and Ben Stevens as linebackers, Clint Denson and Jed Stevens as defensive backs and Preston Berry as defensive tackle; and

     WHEREAS, players Danny Pyles and David Brunt were named to play in the 2005 MPSA All-Star Game; and

     WHEREAS, this fantastic team also beat Oak Forest for the South State Championship with a score of 10-8 on a 37-yard field goal with four seconds left; and

     WHEREAS, the defensive line allowed only 90 points in 13 games for an average of 6.9 points per game; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to recognize and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the remarkable sportsmanship of the young people of our state, who are its future:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we commend Copiah Academy upon a successful 2005 football season.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Copiah Academy and the members of the Capitol Press Corps.