2006 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Perkins

House Concurrent Resolution 107


     WHEREAS, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., was founded on December 4, 1906, and is the first and oldest intercollegiate Greek-letter foundation established for African Americans; and

     WHEREAS, Alpha Phi Alpha was founded at Cornell University by seven college men who recognized the need for a strong bond of brotherhood among African-American descendants in this country; and

     WHEREAS, founded by visionaries, known as the "Jewels" of the Fraternity:  Henry Arthur Callis, Charles Henry Chapman, Eugene Kinckle Jones, George Biddle Kelley, Nathaniel Allison Murray, Robert Harold Ogle and Vertner Woodson Tandy; and

     WHEREAS, Alpha Phi Alpha initially served as a study and support group for minority students who faced racial prejudice, both educationally and socially, that originally met at 421 North Albany Street, Ithaca, New York, and was incorporated January 29, 1908; and

     WHEREAS, the Jewel founders and early leaders of the fraternity succeeded in laying a firm foundation for Alpha Phi Alpha's principles of scholarship, fellowship, good character and the uplifting of humanity; and

     WHEREAS, after developing chapters at other colleges and universities, many being historically black institutions, Alpha Phi Alpha continues to proliferate, spanning the globe with some 800 chapters, more than 160,000 members worldwide located throughout the United States, the Caribbean Islands, Africa, the West Indies, Europe and Asia; and

     WHEREAS, Alpha Phi Alpha prides itself in stressing academic excellence among its members and recognizes the educational, economic and social challenges faced by African Americans, both nationally and internationally; and

     WHEREAS, in response to these challenges Alpha Phi Alpha mandates programs such as Project Alpha, Go To High School, Go To College and A Voteless People is a Hopeless People; and

     WHEREAS, the legacy of Alpha Phi Alpha includes:  Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.,  W.E.B. DuBois, Fredrick Douglass, Paul Robeson, Dick Gregory, John Hope Franklin, Thurgood Marshall, Adam Clayton Powell, Jr., United States Vice President Hubert Humphrey, Duke Ellington, Jesse Owens, Jackie Robinson, Dennis Archer, Richard Arrington, Jr., Marion Barry, Edward Brooke, Willie Brown, Danny K. Davis, William H. Gray, William H. Gray, III, Maynard Jackson, Bill Jefferson, Charles B. Rangel, Robert C. Scott, Emanuel Cleaver, Ron Dellums, David Dinkins, Julian C. Dixon, Chaka Fattah, Harold Ford, Sr., Kwame Kilpatrick, Ralph Metcalfe, Ernest Morial, Andrew Young, Whitney Young, Jerry Butler, Donny Hathaway, Lionel Richie, Countee Cullen, Charles Haley, Lionel Hampton, Keenan Wayans, Cornel West, Rosey Grier, Eddie Robinson, Art Shell, Wayne Embry, Wes Unseld, Gene Upshaw, Lenny Wilkens and John H. Johnson and scores more; and

     WHEREAS, since its founding on December 4, 1906, Alpha Phi Alpha has supplied the voice and vision to the struggle of African Americans and people of color around the world; and

     WHEREAS, Alpha Phi Alpha is celebrating its centennial anniversary in Washington, D.C., July 25 - July 30, 2006, which commemorates and celebrates the fraternity's tremendous legacy of manly deeds, scholarship and love for all mankind; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize and commend the works, efforts and contributions of such an historical organization as Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., salute its legacy on the occasion of its Centennial Anniversary Celebration and express our heartiest wishes for continued growth, prosperity and success in all its future endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to the Mississippi district office, the southern region office, the National Headquarters of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.