MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Chaney, Browning, Clarke, Davis, Dearing, Jackson (15th), Hyde-Smith, Lee (35th), Little, Michel, Nunnelee, Posey, Ross, White

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 513

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING OLE 1 MISS JUNIOR OUTFIELDER BRIAN PETTWAY OF VICKSBURG, MISSISSIPPI, 2 FOR HIS SELECTION AS RECIPIENT OF THE 2005 CELLULAR SOUTH FERRISS 3 TROPHY WHICH RECOGNIZES MISSISSIPPI'S TOP COLLEGE BASEBALL PLAYER. 4 WHEREAS, Ole Miss Junior outfielder Brian Pettway of 5 Vicksburg, Mississippi, was named Mississippi's top college 6 baseball player for 2005 on Monday, May 23, 2005, when he was 7 named the recipient of the Cellular South Ferriss Trophy in a 8 9 presentation at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame & Museum in 10 Jackson, Mississippi; and WHEREAS, Pettway finished the regular season as the SEC's top 11 hitter with a .400 average. His 86 hits were the second best in 12 the league and his 17 homers tied him with Ole Miss teammate and 13 fellow Ferriss Trophy finalist Stephen Head for fourth in the SEC. 14 Head won the award last year; and 15 16 WHEREAS, Pettway was a high school teammate of Delta State 17 catcher Craig Newton at Warren Central High School in Vicksburg, Mississippi. Craig was also a finalist for the state's top 18 19 collegiate baseball honor; and WHEREAS, the finalists and eventual winner were determined in 20 21 two rounds of voting by Major League scouts in Mississippi, coaches and the state's twelve four-year college baseball programs 22 23 and a media representative; and 24 WHEREAS, the award is named for Dave "Boo" Ferriss, an inductee into the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and the Boston 25 26 Red Sox Hall of Fame; and WHEREAS, former New York Yankees' standout and ex-American 27 League President Dr. Bobby Brown presented the trophy at the 28 *SS02/R48* S. C. R. No. 513 N1/2

052E/SS02/R48 PAGE 1 29 ceremony held at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum;
30 and

WHEREAS, Pettway was among five Ole Miss players to receive 31 32 All-Southeastern Conference honors, league officials announced 33 Tuesday, May 24, 2005. Brian, the Ferriss Award winner, and first 34 baseman/pitcher Stephen Head were first-team selections; and WHEREAS, in the summer of 2004 and the summer of 2003, Brian 35 played for the Jackson 96ers in the Cotton States League and in 36 2004 was named second team All-SEC as a utility player by The 37 38 Chattanooga Times Free Press; and

39 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize this 40 special award by a dedicated athlete who has brought honor to his 41 university, his community and to the State of Mississippi:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 42 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That 43 we do hereby commend and congratulate Ole Miss Junior Outfielder 44 Brian Pettway of Vicksburg, Mississippi, for his selection as 45 recipient of the 2005 Cellular South Ferriss Trophy, which 46 recognizes Mississippi's Top College Baseball Player, and extend 47 48 to him and his team the best wishes of the Legislature as they 49 commence post-season tournament play.

50 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to 51 Coach Mike Bianco, Brian Pettway and his family, and be made 52 available to the Capitol Press Corps.