SECOND EXTRAORDINARY SESSION 2005

MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Michel, Chaney, Burton, Davis, Lee (35th), Tollison, Williamson, Flowers, Mettetal, Pickering, Ross, King, Walley, Walls, Wilemon, Kirby, Browning, Clarke, Dearing, Frazier, Harvey, Hyde-Smith, Jackson (11th), Jackson (15th), Little, Nunnelee, Posey, White

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO.

1 2 3 4	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE OLE MISS "REBELS" BASEBALL TEAM AND COACH MIKE BIANCO FOR WINNING THE 2005 SOUTHEASTERN CONFERENCE (SEC) WESTERN DIVISION CHAMPIONSHIP AND FOR ATTAINING THE BEST OVERALL RECORD IN THE SEC.
5	WHEREAS, Freshman Shortstop Zack Cozart hit two home runs and
6	had four RBIs as No. 17. Ole Miss defeated No. 18 Arkansas 9-1 to
7	complete a three-game sweep of the Southeastern Conference series
8	on Sunday, May 22, 2005, in front of 7,270 fans at Baum Stadium in
9	Fayetteville, Arkansas; and
.0	WHEREAS, the victory secured Ole Miss a piece of its first

- 10
- SEC Western Division title since 1982, as the Rebels finished the 11
- 12 2005 season tied with LSU for first place in the SEC Western
- Division with 18-12 conference marks; and 13
- WHEREAS, Ole Miss also improved to 40-16 overall, best in the 14
- SEC and tying the school record for wins in a season set by the 15
- 1995 team that finished 40-22. The Rebels' 18 SEC wins also tied 16
- 17 the school record set last year; and
- WHEREAS, the 2005 Southeastern Conference regular season 18
- 19 ended full of tightly packed standings and weekends capable of
- swinging teams from first to last. The SEC tournament seeds hung 20
- 21 in the balance and were only solidified when Ole Miss recorded the
- final out in its sweep of Arkansas; and 22
- 23 WHEREAS, Ole Miss entered the 2005 SEC Tournament as the No.
- 4 seed and played No. 5 seed Alabama at Hoover Metropolitan 24
- Stadium in Hoover, Alabama; and 25
- 26 WHEREAS, Ole Miss Junior first baseman/left-handed pitcher
- Stephen Head and Junior outfielder Brian Pettway were two of four 2.7
- finalists for the 2005 Cellular South Ferriss Trophy, which is 28 *SS02/R42* S. C. R. No. 512 N1/2

- 29 awarded annually to Mississippi's top college baseball player, and
- 30 the voters picked Brian Pettway on May 23, 2005; and
- 31 WHEREAS, the 2005 roster is as follows: Zack Cozart, Ryne
- 32 Porter, Miles Franklin, Peyton Farr, Cooper Osteen, Chris Coghlan,
- 33 Justin Brashear, Justin Henry, Barry Gunther, Mark Wright, John
- 34 Morgan Mims, Mark Holliman, Chris Moffett, C.J. Ketchum, JoJo
- 35 Tann, Stephen Head, Alex Presley, Tommy Baumgardner, Logan Power,
- 36 Matt Maloney, Jeremy Catoire, Anthony Cupps, Vance Avalon, Cody
- 37 Overbeck, Walker Sudduth, Travis Bogue, Alex Kliman, Stoney Stone,
- 38 Brian Pettway, Brett Bukvich, Brooks Villar, Luke Barthel,
- 39 Michael Wakefield, Will Kline, Drew Maddox, Bradley Lum, Eric
- 40 Fowler, Jon-Jon Hancock and Justin Cryer. The coaching/support
- 41 staff is as follows: Head Coach Mike Bianco and Assistant Coaches
- 42 Dan McDonnell, Stuart Lake and Kyle Bunn; and
- WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the total
- 44 team effort of this group of student athletes who have brought
- 45 honor to their university, their community and to the State of
- 46 Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 48 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 49 we do hereby commend and congratulate the Ole Miss "Rebels"
- 50 Baseball Team and Coach Mike Bianco for winning the 2005
- 51 Southeastern Conference (SEC) Western Division Championship and
- 52 for attaining the best overall record in the SEC.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
- 54 the Ole Miss Baseball Team and be made available to the Capitol
- 55 Press Corps.