2005 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Reynolds

House Resolution 60

(As Adopted by House)


     WHEREAS, the Charleston High School Tigers Football Team finished the 2004 season with an impressive record of 12-2 in regular season play, winning the Region 2-3A Championship and runner up for the North Half Championship; and

     WHEREAS, the 2004 Tigers team left a notable mark in the school's record book, finishing the season, ranked No. 2 in The Clarion-Ledger 3A poll and No. 16 in The Associated Press poll; and

     WHEREAS, led by seven seniors, Raphael Davis, James Hunt, Aquan Taylor, Zack Campbell, LeAuto Horton, Omar Love and Josh Williams, many individual honors have been bestowed upon various team members in recognition of their fine, dedicated and superior play and their hard work this season, including:  the naming of Ryan Trusty, Greg Suggs, Martin Meeks, Corderick Govan and Lorenzo Townes to the Mississippi Association of Coaches All State Team; the selection of Omar Love, Ryan Trusty, Marlin Meeks, Greg Suggs, Lorenzo Townes, Josh Williams and Stacey Lake to the Super 22 Team; and the naming of Corderick Govan as Division 2-3A Most Valuable Defensive Player; and

     WHEREAS, additional honors consist of the selection of Cordalle Boclair, James Hunt, LeAuto Horton, Daniel Tenner, Raphael Davis, Deshagdrick Biggins and Corderal Fane to the First Team All Region; the naming of Omar Love, Marlin Meeks, Greg Suggs, Ryan Trusty, Corderick Govan, Lorenzo Townes, Josh Williams, Stacey Lake, James Hunt, Daniel Tenner, Deshagdrick Biggins, Cordalle Boclair and Johnny Brown to the Grenada Daily Sentinel Star All Area Team; and the selection of Omar Love as the Grenada Daily Sentinel Star's Offensive Player of the Year; and

     WHEREAS, the Tigers have been superbly coached and inspired by Head Coach Perry Liles and Assistant Coaches Doyle Ellett, Tony Vance, Chris Langford, Wayne Mayhan, Raymond Lane, Don L. Tenner and Nathan Ross, who have broadened the team's knowledge of the game and refined their skills in execution; and

     WHEREAS, the Tigers coaching staff has brought additional honor to themselves and to Charleston High School by being named Division 2-3A Coaching Staff of the Year and Area Coaching Staff of the Year; and

     WHEREAS, a self-disciplined and self-motivated team, the Tigers have been supported in their athletic endeavors and can attribute much of their success to the many parents, fans and supporters whose moral and spiritual encouragement have remained fervent throughout the season; and

     WHEREAS, they have developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, and their activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual players and their coaches and bring honor to Charleston High School; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives of the State of Mississippi to recognize and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the youth of our state, who are its future:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Charleston High School Tigers Football Team and their coaches for winning the Region 2-3A Championship and for displaying tireless devotion to their athletic endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Charleston High School, Head Coach Perry Liles, Assistant Coaches Doyle Ellett, Tony Vance, Chris Langford, Wayne Mayhan, Raymond Lane, Don L. Tenner and Nathan Ross, and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.