2005 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Whittington, Banks, Brown, Calhoun, Clarke, Coleman (29th), Evans, Fleming, Gunn, Holloway, Mayo, Peranich, Scott, Weathersby

House Resolution 49

(As Adopted by House)


     WHEREAS, the Mississippi School for the Deaf (MSD) has a long and successful history of athletics, with programs balanced with an overall academic program and providing students with competitive opportunities that may not be afforded them elsewhere; and

     WHEREAS, the MSD Bulldogs Football Team captured its fourth consecutive National Championship title this season, finishing the season with a 6-0 record, winning by an average of 25 points per game and continuing a 28-game undefeated winning streak since a 12-6 loss to Georgia School for the Deaf in 2000; and

     WHEREAS, MSD's win against previously unbeaten Louisiana School for the Deaf in Baton Rouge, by a score of 64-33, clinched this year's championship; and

     WHEREAS, the Bulldogs were able to put away all five deaf schools they faced, including Minnesota, Indiana, Texas, Georgia and Louisiana, and more triumphantly they defeated Pisgah High School in a history making victory over a hearing school, something that has not been accomplished since 1989; and

     WHEREAS, the Bulldogs were led by player of the year candidate, Ro'Derrick Brown, who scored 24 touchdowns, and Cortland Clay, who scored nine touchdowns, charged the team to a season score of 298 points, averaging 49 points a game; and

     WHEREAS, the Bulldogs have been superbly coached and inspired this season by Head Coach Tyrone Blackmon and Assistant Coaches Arness Georgetown and Tyrone Haley, who have broadened the Bulldogs' knowledge of the game and refined their skills in execution; and

     WHEREAS, a self-disciplined and self-motivated team, the Bulldogs have been supported in their athletic endeavors and can attribute much of their success to the many parents, fans and supporters whose moral and spiritual encouragement have remained fervent throughout the season; and

     WHEREAS, they have developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, and their activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual players and their coaches and bring honor to Mississippi School for the Deaf; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to recognize and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the youth of our state, who are its future:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Mississippi School for the Deaf Bulldogs Football Team and their coaches for winning the 2004 Deaf National Championship.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to the Mississippi School for the Deaf, Head Coach Tyrone Blackmon, Assistant Coaches Arness Georgetown and Tyrone Haley and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.