2005 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Carlton, Pierce, Young, Akins, Aldridge, Arinder, Bailey, Baker (74th), Baker (8th), Banks, Barnett, Beckett, Bentz, Blackmon, Bondurant, Bounds, Broomfield, Brown, Buck, Burnett, Calhoun, Capps, Chism, Clark, Clarke, Coleman (29th), Coleman (65th), Compretta, Cummings, Davis, Dedeaux, Denny, Dickson, Eaton, Ellington, Ellis, Espy, Evans, Fillingane, Flaggs, Fleming, Formby, Franks, Fredericks, Frierson, Gadd, Gibbs, Green, Gregory, Guice, Gunn, Hamilton (109th), Hamilton (6th), Harrison, Hines, Holland, Holloway, Horne, Howell, Huddleston, Hudson, Ishee, Janus, Jennings, Johnson, Lott, Malone, Markham, Martinson, Masterson, Mayhall, Mayo, McBride, McCoy, Middleton, Miles, Mims, Moak, Montgomery, Moore, Morris, Moss, Myers, Nicholson, Parker, Patterson, Peranich, Perkins, Read, Reed, Reeves, Reynolds, Robinson (63rd), Robinson (84th), Rogers (14th), Rogers (61st), Rotenberry, Scott, Shows, Simpson, Smith (27th), Smith (39th), Smith (59th), Snowden, Staples, Stevens, Straughter, Stringer, Sullivan, Taylor, Thomas, Turner, Upshaw, Vince, Ward, Warren, Watson, Weathersby, Wells-Smith, Whittington, Woods, Zuber

House Resolution 7


     WHEREAS, the Purple Heart was established on August 7, 1782, during the Revolutionary War, when General George Washington issued an order creating the Honorary Badge of Distinction, otherwise known as the Badge of Military Merit, or the Decoration of the Purple Heart; and

     WHEREAS, the Purple Heart is the oldest military decoration in the world in present use; and

     WHEREAS, the Purple Heart is awarded in the name of the President of the United States to members of the Armed Forces who are wounded in conflict with an enemy force or while held by an enemy force as a prisoner of war; and

      WHEREAS, the Purple Heart is awarded posthumously to the next of kin of members of the Armed Forces who are killed in conflict with an enemy force or who die of a wound received in conflict with an enemy force; and

     WHEREAS, in recognizing August 7, 2005, as "Purple Heart Recognition Day," we seek to honor the hundreds of thousands of American veterans who have earned military tribute by virtue of their bravery and sacrifice; and

     WHEREAS, close to two million veterans have been awarded this prestigious medal, and ensuring that we recognize a lasting memorial to honor the profound sacrifices made by our men and women in uniform, is a special part of fulfilling the debt of gratitude we owe these heroes and their families for their unmistakable courage; and

     WHEREAS, as American troops continue to bravely serve our country, we are reminded of the sacrifices of previous generations of Americans who risked or gave their lives for the freedom we all enjoy today; and

     WHEREAS, Purple Heart Recognition Day will help pay tribute to those extraordinary men and women and remind us of the valor and service of all of our veterans:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby recognize August 7, 2005, as "Purple Heart Recognition Day" in Mississippi, and encourage our citizens to learn about the history of the Purple Heart for Military Merit and to honor its recipients.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to the Honorable Governor Haley Barbour, Adjutant General, Major General Harold Cross and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.