2005 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Eaton

House Concurrent Resolution 105

(As Adopted by House and Senate)


     WHEREAS, the Mize Attendance Center Bulldogs Football Team finished the 2004 season with an impressive, undefeated record of 15-0, winning the Class 1A State Championship; and

     WHEREAS, the 2004 Bulldogs team clinched the state 1A title after defeating Wier by a score of 27-20, thus making their mark in the school's record book, in addition to winning the Region 4-1A Championship and the South Mississippi Championship; and

     WHEREAS, many individual honors have been bestowed upon various team members in recognition of their fine, dedicated and superior play and their hard work this season, including:  the naming of Joseph Adcock, Eugene Sims, Tony Agee, Al Hunt and Jasper Ducksworth to the All State First Team; the selection of Al Hunt, Jamie McClellan, Todd Haynes and Trell Hagans to the All State Second Team; the selection of Tony Agee, Al Hunt, Brandon Middleton, Perry Jones, Eugene Sims, Josh Wood, Todd Haynes and Travis Autry to the All Region First Team; the naming of Chris Sullivan, Brad Magee, Maurice Ducksworth, Jamie McClellan and Isaiah Keyes to the All Region Second Team; All Region honorable mention recognition to Evan Niles, Rico Shaw and Don Blackwell; the naming of Trell Hagans as All Region Co-MVP; the naming of Jasper Ducksworth as All Region Offensive MVP; and the selection of Joseph Adcock as All Region Defensive MVP; and

     WHEREAS, the Bulldogs have been superbly coached and inspired by Head Coach Kenny Robinson and Assistant Coaches Chuck Lee, Joe Flynt, Caleb Boyles, Sid Wheatly, Joe McKissack and Tim Brewer, who have broadened the team's knowledge of the game and refined their skills in execution; and

     WHEREAS, Coach Robinson's superior coaching skills have not gone unnoticed by his colleagues as evidenced by his selection to serve as head coach of the 2005 Bernard Blackwell North/South Game; Mississippi Association of Coaches 1A Coach of the Year, Laurel Leader Call Coach of the Year, The Clarion-Ledger Coach of the Year and WDAM Coach of the Year; and

     WHEREAS, the Mize coaching staff has brought additional honor to themselves and Mize Attendance Center by being selected Region 4-1A Coaching Staff of the Year for 2004; and

     WHEREAS, a self-disciplined and self-motivated team, the Bulldogs have been supported in their athletic endeavors and can attribute much of their success to the many parents, fans and supporters whose moral and spiritual encouragement have remained fervent throughout the season; and

     WHEREAS, they have developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, and their activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual players and their coaches and bring honor to Mize Attendance Center; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the youth of our state, who are its future:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Mize Attendance Center Bulldogs Football Team and their coaches for winning the Class 1A State Championship and for displaying tireless devotion to their athletic endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Mize Attendance Center, Head Coach Kenny Robinson, Assistant Coaches Chuck Lee, Joe Flynt, Caleb Boyles, Sid Wheatly, Joe McKissack and Tim Brewer and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.