2005 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Blackmon, Baker (74th), Denny, Fleming, Gunn, Martinson, Smith (27th), Brown

House Concurrent Resolution 68


     WHEREAS, the St. Andrews Episcopal School Saints Football Team finished the 2004 season with an impressive, undefeated record of 10-0 in regular season play, winning the District VI  Class 2A Championship; and

     WHEREAS, the 2004 Saints team made their mark in the school's record book by tying the school's record for the most wins and clenching the team's first undefeated regular season since 1993; and

     WHEREAS, the Saints climaxed their season of play with an 11-game winning streak, finishing the season with an 11-1 record, before losing in the second round of the state playoffs; and

     WHEREAS, led by five seniors, Brent Smith, Brian Gladney, Alan Landrum, David Drake and Japanese exchange student, Taka Naragino, many individual honors have been bestowed upon various team members in recognition of their fine, dedicated and superior play and their hard work this season, including:  the naming of Brent Smith to the Clarion Ledger All-Metro First Team; the selection of Conway Craig as second ranked passer in Class 2A; the naming of Martin Edwards as lead kicker in Class 2A and the selection of standout sophomore running back Bradford Blackmon as Most Valuable Player for District VI Class 2A and named to the Mississippi Association of Coaches All-State Second Team; and

     WHEREAS, during his two years of varsity play at St. Andrews, Bradford Blackmon has scored 45 touchdowns, completed 349 rushes, compiled 2,560 yards, ranked fourth in rushing in the state Class 2A division, set a school record with 222 points in 12 games, averaging 18.5 points per game and scored the second most points of any player in the state in all classifications; and

     WHEREAS, the Saints have been superbly coached and inspired by Head Coach David Bradberry and Assistant Coaches Dan Roach and Joe Ray who have broadened the team's knowledge of the game and refined their skills in execution; and

     WHEREAS, Coach Bradberry, whose overall coaching record stands at 149-57, has compiled an 18-5 record at St. Andrews since becoming Head Coach in 2003; and

     WHEREAS, in addition to excelling on the field, the Saints also display superior prowess in the classroom to achieve academic excellence with 19 honor roll students; and

     WHEREAS, a self-disciplined and self-motivated team, the Saints have been supported in their athletic endeavors and can attribute much of their success to the many parents, fans and supporters whose moral and spiritual encouragement have remained fervent throughout the season; and

     WHEREAS, they have developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, and their activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual players and their coaches and bring honor to St. Andrews Episcopal School; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the youth of our state, who are its future:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the St. Andrews Episcopal School Saints Football Team and their coaches, Head Coach David Bradberry and Assistant Coaches Dan Roach and Joe Ray for their phenomenal 2004 season, for winning the District VI Class 2A Championship and for displaying tireless devotion to their athletic endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to St. Andrews Episcopal School, Head Coach David Bradberry, Assistant Coaches Dan Roach and Joe Ray and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.