2002 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Montgomery (74th), Creel, Ellington, Flaggs, Formby, Masterson, McBride, Moody, Moore (60th), Morris, Read, Robinson (63rd), Rogers, Simpson, Smith (59th), Weathersby, Wells-Smith, Zuber, Eads

House Resolution 50

(As Adopted by House)


     WHEREAS, there are a number of Mississippians currently attending various United States Military Academies, some of which will be graduating in the spring class of 2002; and

     WHEREAS, these cadets have willingly given up the carefree college experience to undergo the rigorous physical and mental training and character development necessary to produce our nation's great military leaders; and

     WHEREAS, these Mississippians are completing four years of extensive academic, physical fitness and military training at the United States military academies in preparation to become military leaders, committed to service of our country and willingly placing themselves in harm's way to protect and defend the United States and the Constitution; and

     WHEREAS, the following young men and women have represented Mississippi well for the past four years through hard work and determination, earning the respect of their peers, families, communities and state:  John C. Culpepper of Raymond and Belinda L. King of Picayune, graduating from the U.S. Naval Academy; Brant A. Auge of Ocean Springs, graduating from the U.S. Military Academy at West Point; Edgar Allen Cross of Vicksburg, Ashley Gee of Glen, Edmund Keeley Herrington of Long Beach, Wesley Everett Higginbotham of Louisville, Andrew Whittington Hunt of Clinton, Joseph Trenton McCoy of Brandon, Adam Keith Roberts of Batesville and Angela Marie Wheatley of Biloxi, graduating from the U.S. Air Force Academy; and Ryan McRee of Pascagoula, graduating from the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives of the State of Mississippi to recognize and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the young people of our state who are its future:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate all Mississippians graduating from the U.S. Military Academies in the spring class of 2002 and extend our heartiest wishes for continued success in all their future endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to 2002 Mississippi graduates of the U.S. Military Academies and the members of the Capitol Press Corps.