2002 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Clarke, Brown, Coleman (29th), Dedeaux, Eads, Evans, Fillingane, Flaggs, Fleming, Formby, Gadd, Green, Grist, Harrison, Hines, Holloway, Ketchings, Martinson, Middleton, Montgomery (15th), Myers, Shows, Stevens, Straughter, Warren, West, Whittington

House Resolution 31

(As Adopted by House)


     WHEREAS, the following persons have provided more than 30 years of dedicated service to Jackson State University and the State of Mississippi by ensuring academic excellence in higher education:  Dr. Emma Brooks-Baham, Professor Martin L. Epps, Dr. Jimmie James, Jr., Dr. Velvelyn B. Foster, Dr. Hilliard L. Lackey, III, Professor Mae Rainey Brown, Dr. Inez R.M. Chambers, Dr. Doris O. Ginn, Dr. Iely G. Burkhead Mohamed, Professor Dan R. Course, Sr., Dr. Bessie L. Tucker, Dr. Dollye M.E. Robinson, Dr. Daniel C. Vogt, Dr. Emanuel J. Abston, Dr. Maria L.A. Harvey, Dr. Robert "Bob" Williams, Professor James Brown and Dr. Ivory Phillips; and

     WHEREAS, representing the Departments of Music, English, Modern Foreign Languages, Mathematics, History, Social Science Education, Urban Studies, Criminal Justice and Health and Physical Education, these individuals have served as teachers, advisors, mentors, administrators, researchers and stewards of goodwill for our great state; and

     WHEREAS, through their tireless dedication to the educational process, horizons have been broadened for thousands of students who have accomplished much and will forever be connected to the State of Mississippi; and

     WHEREAS, due to the hard work of these educators, Jackson State University has been propelled from its roots as a regional teacher's college to the research intensive urban university it is today; and

     WHEREAS, it is because of the immeasurable contributions of such educators that Jackson State University, with a longstanding tradition of dedicated educators, will continue to grow and reach greater vitality; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives of the State of Mississippi to recognize and commend excellence and the exceptional contributions to the field of education in higher learning, especially when evidenced by people who have dedicated so many years of their lives to developing and cultivating the minds and bodies of the many young Americans with whom they come in contact during their careers:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby recognize and commend all those educators who have provided 30 or more years of dedicated and superior service to Jackson State University.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to the President of Jackson State University, each educator commended herein and the members of the Capitol Press Corps.