2002 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative McBride, Miles, Horne, Brown, Bailey, Baker, Banks, Barbour, Barnett (116th), Barnett (92nd), Blackmon, Bowles, Broomfield, Cameron, Capps, Chism, Clark, Clarke, Coleman (29th), Coleman (65th), Compretta, Creel, Cummings, Davis, Dedeaux, Denny, Dickson, Eads, Eakes, Eaton, Ellington, Ellis, Ellzey, Espy, Evans, Fillingane, Flaggs, Fleming, Ford, Formby, Franks, Fredericks, Frierson, Gadd, Gibbs, Green, Grist, Guice, Hamilton, Harrison, Henderson, Hines, Holland, Holloway, Howell, Huddleston, Hudson, Ishee, Janus, Jennings, Ketchings, Livingston, Lott, Malone, Maples, Markham, Martinson, Masterson, Mayo, McCoy, Middleton, Mitchell, Moak, Montgomery (15th), Montgomery (74th), Moody, Moore (100th), Moore (60th), Morris, Moss, Myers, Nettles, Nicholson, Peranich, Perkins, Pierce, Read, Reeves, Reynolds, Roberson, Robertson, Robinson (63rd), Robinson (84th), Rogers, Rotenberry, Rushing, Ryals, Scott (17th), Scott (80th), Shows, Simpson, Smith (27th), Smith (35th), Smith (39th), Smith (59th), Snowden, Stevens, Straughter, Stringer, Taylor, Thomas, Wallace, Ward, Warren, Watson, Weathersby, Wells-Smith, West, Whittington, Woods, Young, Zuber

House Concurrent Resolution 118

(As Adopted by House and Senate)


     WHEREAS, on September 4, 2001, President George W. Bush nominated Michael P. Mills to be United States District Judge for the Northern District of Mississippi; on October 11, 2001, Judge Mills was confirmed by the United States Senate and on October 16, 2001, he received his commission; and

     WHEREAS, Mike Mills served as a Mississippi Supreme Court Justice from 1995 to 2001 and as a member of the Mississippi House of Representatives from 1984 to 1995; and

     WHEREAS, during his tenure as a member of the Mississippi House of Representatives, Mike Mills served as Chairman of the Judiciary "A" and Judiciary En Banc Committees, authoring numerous judicial improvements including the White Collar Crime Act, the Statewide Grand Jury Act and the 1994 Court Reform Act which created the Intermediate Court of Appeals and update circuit and chancery court procedures; and

     WHEREAS, Judge Mills graduated from Itawamba Agricultural High School in 1974, received his A.A. degree from Itawamba Community College in 1976, received his B.A. degree from the University of Mississippi in 1978, received his J.D. degree from the University of Mississippi School of Law in 1980 and received his L.L.M. degree from the University of Virginia School of Law in 2001; and

     WHEREAS, before becoming a judge, he enjoyed a successful career as a practicing attorney in Monroe and Itawamba Counties; and

     WHEREAS, in addition to a vast knowledge of the law, Judge Mills is an ardent enthusiast of the Blues, studying and lecturing on this art form which has its roots in his beloved Mississippi and learning to play the songs of his favorite artists; and

     WHEREAS, Judge Mills has been published in several legal journals and his short story "There's Pow'r in the Blood" received an award in the 2001 Tallahatchie Riverfest William Faulkner Writing Competition; and

     WHEREAS, Judge Mills is a Fellow of the Mississippi Bar Foundation and a member of the American Bar Association and he is a former commissioner on the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws; and

     WHEREAS, Judge Mills is married to the former Mona Robinson and they are the proud parents of Alysson, Chip, Rebekah and Penn; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Legislature to recognize and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the exemplary accomplishments of an outstanding jurist such as Judge Michael P. Mills:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate Judge Michael P. Mills on his appointment as United States District Judge for the Northern District of Mississippi.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Judge Michael P. Mills and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.