1998 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Frazier, Harden, Hall, Ross, Horhn

Senate Concurrent Resolution 635


WHEREAS, the Murrah High School nationally ranked Lady Mustangs won the 5A Girls State Tournament title in a 65-50 victory over No. 2 Greenville; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Mustangs had an absolutely outstanding season, ending with a 36-0 record; and

WHEREAS, Murrah, top-ranked in The Clarion-Ledger poll all season, was ranked No. 2 in the South and rated 12th nationally by USA Today; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Mustangs this season tied their school record for wins, claimed their second 5A crown this decade, and is the first 5A girls team to go unbeaten since Harrison Central went 40-0 in 1988; and

WHEREAS, Coach Anna Jackson, who is 364-124 with two 5A crowns in 15 seasons at the Jackson school, said she focused on one game at a time all season, and praised her girls for remaining focused; and

WHEREAS, the team's performance in tournament play is further evidence of the stellar quality of this team: the Lady Mustangs were the Murrah Round Robin champions in November, JPS/Pepsi Holiday champions in December, City champions in January, Divisions 5-5A champions and South State champions in February, capping their series with the State Championship in March; and

WHEREAS, many individual honors have been bestowed upon various team members in recognition of their fine, dedicated play: Yetta Enobakhare, Kesha Tardy and Tamika Rogers were named All-State players; Kesha Tardy, Yetta Enobakhare, Ebony Felder and Latasha Kenny were named to the All-South-State team; Latasha Kenny, Yetta Enobakhare, Kesha Tardy and Tamika Rogers were named All-Division players and Ebony Felder presented the Sportsmanship Award at the Division level; Ebony Felder, Yetta Enobakhare and Kesha Tardy were named All-City; and team members named All-JPS/Pepsi were Ebony Felder, Kesha Tardy and Latasha Kenny; and

WHEREAS, every member of the team is also an academic high-achiever and has earned her place on either the honor roll or high honor roll; one player, Tomeika Reed, is on the Principal's List; and

WHEREAS, each of these players, Courtney Cockrell, Yetta Enobakhare, Felicia Farrar, Ebony Felder, Crystal Jackson, Alicia Jenkins, Shanica Jones, LaTasha Kenny, Katherine Murrell, Tomeika Reed, Raven Rogers, Tamika Rogers and Kesha Tardy, has given her all to make the Lady Mustangs the championship team we see today; and

WHEREAS, in addition to the inspiration provided by Coach Jackson, the girls have been ably led by Assistant Coach Charles Dillon; and

WHEREAS, statistician Marvin Jackson and managers Christy Chinn, LaShundra Speech and Tiffany Ward are an integral part of the team effort; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Mustangs have developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, as their activities and attitude reflect; and

WHEREAS, with only three graduating seniors on the team this year, the future is bright for these women athletes in the high school arena; and

WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize, commend and encourage excellence, especially when evinced by the youth of our State, who are the future:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MISSISSIPPI SENATE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Murrah High School Lady Mustangs for their championship win and outstanding season of hoops, and for displaying tireless devotion to their athletic endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Murrah High School and Coach Jackson.