1997 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Bean, Farris

Senate Concurrent Resolution 515

(As Adopted by Senate and House)


WHEREAS, Carl Jackson was born in the small town of Louisville, Mississippi, on September 18, 1953; and

WHEREAS, Carl Jackson's roots run deep in the Red Hills of Winston County, Mississippi; and

WHEREAS, Carl Jackson was an accomplished musician at the age of eight; and

WHEREAS, at the age of fourteen he was asked to become a Virginia boy by bluegrass greats, Jim and Jesse McReynolds; and

WHEREAS, he soon found himself on the stage of the Grand Ole Opry and he played banjo for Jim and Jesse for nearly five years; and

WHEREAS, he formed a band called "The Country Store" with close friends Jimmy Gaudreau, Bill Rawlins and the late Keith Whitley; and

WHEREAS, after a jam session with Glen Campbell's banjo player, Larry McNeely, he was hired on the spot by Glen Campbell; and

WHEREAS, Carl Jackson played with Glen Campbell for twelve years; and

WHEREAS, while playing with Glen Campbell, Carl began to concentrate on his vocal and songwriting abilities; and

WHEREAS, he recorded two albums for Capitol Records, "Carl Jackson: Banjo Player" and "Old Friends"; three for Sugar Hill, "Banjo Man: A Tribute to Earl Scruggs," "Song of the South" and "Banjo Hits"; and

WHEREAS, after signing with Columbia Records in 1984, he produced two top forty country songs: "She's Gone, Gone, Gone" and "Dixie Train"; and

WHEREAS, Carl Jackson is an accomplished vocalist and you can hear him singing harmony with Emmylou Harris, Dwight Yoakam, Vince Gill, Ricky Skaggs, Steve Wariner, Garth Brooks, Janie Fricke, Dolly Parton, Sweethearts of the Rodeo, Marsha Thornton, John Anderson, Mac Davis, Pam Tillis, Radney Foster, Holly Dunn, Glen Campbell, Martina McBride, Marty Stuart, Ken Mellons, Tammy Wynette, Hank Williams, Jr., Mike Reid, Linda Ronstadt or Roger Miller, just to name a few; and

WHEREAS, Carl Jackson is an extraordinary songwriter and his songs have been recorded by country greats such as: Glen Campbell ("Letter to Home"), Wild Rose ("Breaking New Ground"), Pam Tillis ("Put Yourself in My Place"), Garth Brooks ("Against the Grain"), Trisha Yearwood ("Lonesome Dove"), Diamond Rio ("Close to the Edge"), Patty Loveless ("You Don't Know How Lucky You Are"), Steve Wariner ("The Same Mistake Again"), Vince Gill ("Real Lady's Man") and Daron Norwood ("My Girl Friday"); and

WHEREAS, Carl Jackson's song, "Little Mountain Church House" was voted the International Bluegrass Music Association Song of the Year in 1990; and

WHEREAS, in 1992, Carl Jackson was awarded his first Grammy for his album with John Starling entitled "Spring Training"; and

WHEREAS, in 1992, he received a Dove Award for Southern Gospel Song of the Year, "Where Shadows Never Fall," recorded by Glen Campbell; and

WHEREAS, Carl's beautiful ballad, "No Future in the Past" recorded by Male Vocalist of the Year Vince Gill, was named the Number One Song of the Year for 1993 by Radio and Records Magazine; and

WHEREAS, the harmony, music and words of songs performed by the country's most successful music artists spring from the heart and mind of native Mississippian, Carl Jackson; and

WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Legislature to commend the noteworthy achievements of its citizens:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend musician, vocalist and songwriter, Carl Jackson, for his artistic accomplishments and wish him continued success in his endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be presented to Carl Jackson.