1997 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representatives Barnett (92nd), Bailey, Banks, Barnett (116th), Blackmon, Bourdeaux, Bowles, Bozeman, Broomfield, Brown, Cameron, Capps, Chaney, Clark, Clarke, Coleman (29th), Coleman (65th), Comans, Compretta, Cummings, Davis (102nd), Davis (7th), Dedeaux, Denny, Dickson, Eaton, Ellington, Ellis, Ellzey, Endt, Evans, Flaggs, Ford, Formby, Foster, Franks, Fredericks, Frierson, Gadd, Gibbs, Green (34th), Green (72nd), Green (96th), Grist, Guice, Hamilton, Henderson (26th), Henderson (9th), Holden, Holland, Horne, Howell, Huddleston, Hudson, Janus, Johnson, Ketchings, King, Livingston, Malone, Manning, Maples, Martinson, McBride, McCoy, McElwain, McInnis, Middleton, Miles, Miller, Mitchell, Moak, Montgomery, Moody, Moore, Morris, Moss, Myers, Nettles, Peranich, Perkins, Perry, Read, Reeves, Reynolds, Richardson, Robertson, Robinson (63rd), Robinson (84th), Rogers, Ross, Rotenberry, Ryan, Saucier, Scott (17th), Scott (80th), Short, Shows, Simmons (100th), Simmons (37th), Simpson, Smith (27th), Smith (35th), Smith (39th), Stevens, Straughter, Stribling, Stringer, Taylor, Thornton, Vince, Walker, Wallace, Warren, Watson, Weathersby, Wells-Smith, Williams, Woods, Young

House Concurrent Resolution 89

(As Adopted by House and Senate)


WHEREAS, Speaker Tim Ford has been elected by legislative colleagues throughout the nation as President of the National Speakers Conference for 1997, making him the first Mississippian to hold the position; and

WHEREAS, Speaker Ford was first elected to the Mississippi House of Representatives in 1980 representing District 18 and is currently serving his third term as Speaker of the House; and

WHEREAS, Speaker Ford's name was placed in nomination by the outgoing President of the National Speakers Conference, Thomas Ritter, Speaker of the Connecticut House of Representatives and the changing of the gavel took place in a ceremony in the office of Texas Speaker Pete Laney; and

WHEREAS, Speaker Ford's term will run through the National Speakers Conference annual meeting to be held in Biloxi, Mississippi, on October 9-12, 1997; and

WHEREAS, in addition to his service in the National Speakers Conference, Speaker Tim Ford is active in numerous national and regional legislative organizations including service as former Vice Chairman of the Southern Growth Policies Board, Director of the State Legislative Leaders Foundation and as a member of the Executive Committee of the Southern Legislative Conference; and

WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Legislature to recognize and commend exemplary accomplishments of outstanding Mississippi public servants:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate Speaker Tim Ford upon being elected as President of the National Speakers Conference.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Speaker Tim Ford and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.