1997 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representatives Shows, Ellzey

House Concurrent Resolution 86

(As Adopted by House and Senate)


WHEREAS, Carolyn Bush Turner has served as the Chairman of Farm Bureau Women since 1984; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Turner graduated from Jones County Agricultural High School in 1957, attended Jones County Junior College and Mississippi State University, received a bachelor of science degree from the University of Southern Mississippi in 1962, received a masters degree from William Carey College in 1975 and received an Education Specialist degree from the University of Southern Mississippi in 1986; and

WHEREAS, truly dedicated to the youth of Mississippi, Mrs. Turner worked as an elementary teacher in the State of Mississippi for 32 years; and

WHEREAS, a faithful and diligent Christian, Mrs. Turner serves as church clerk and as a Sunday School teacher in Pine Grove Baptist Church; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Turner is a member of numerous organizations including Farm Bureau Women, Jones County Baptist Association and the Mississippi Association of Educators, and is a former member of the Jones County Cowbelles; and

WHEREAS, as Farm Bureau Women's Chairman, Mrs. Turner has had 4 young ladies to become Miss Mississippi Farm Bureau and has had numerous talent winners on the county and state levels; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Turner has received recognition at the Farm Bureau State Convention for Jones County with entries for scrap books and for other categories; and

WHEREAS, a loving wife and mother, Mrs. Turner is married to Wendel Turner and has three children, Mike Turner, Lynne Turner and Jan Hughes; and

WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize and honor the great citizens of the State of Mississippi:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend Carolyn Bush Turner as the Chairman of the Farm Bureau Women and do wish her continued success in all of her future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Carolyn Bush Turner and to members of the Capitol Press Corps.