By: Senator(s) Norwood, Frazier, Simmons (12th), Blount, Thomas, Blackmon, Horhn, England, Simmons (13th)

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 507

- A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE JACKSON STATE UNIVERSITY TIGERS FOOTBALL TEAM AND HEAD FOOTBALL
- 3 COACH TC TAYLOR FOR WINNING THEIR FIRST CELEBRATION BOWL, CLAIMING
- 4 THE HISTORICALLY BLACK COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES NATIONAL
- 5 CHAMPIONSHIP AND FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING 2024 SEASON.
- 6 WHEREAS, we join the team, coaches, students, administration,
- 7 alumni and fans of the Jackson State University Tigers Football
- 8 Team in celebrating the university's first Celebration Bowl
- 9 victory, which matches the winner of the Southwestern Athletic
- 10 Conference Championship (SWAC) against the winner of the Mid-
- 11 Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) to decide the (HBCU) National
- 12 Championship; and
- 13 WHEREAS, on December 14, 2024, at the Celebration Bowl, Coach
- 14 TC Taylor stood on the stage and threw both of his arms straight
- 15 up in the air before the Jackson State football coach grabbed the
- 16 silver Celebration Bowl trophy and hoisted it over his head as
- 17 blue, orange and white confetti rained down from above. A chant
- 18 from the Jackson State crowd at Mercedes-Benz Stadium began to

- 19 grow louder and louder as they chanted for TC Taylor, JSU's
- 20 second-year coach; and
- 21 WHEREAS, the Tigers (12-2) had just beaten South Carolina
- 22 State (9-3) in a dominant 28-7 win anchored by the defense. The
- 23 victory was JSU's first Celebration Bowl win, claiming the HBCU
- 24 national championship. A 17-game postseason losing streak was
- 25 also snapped; and
- 26 WHEREAS, Deion Sanders took Jackson State to the Celebration
- 27 Bowl twice, losing in 2021 and 2022. It only took two seasons for
- 28 TC Taylor to match and then top what Sanders accomplished with the
- 29 Celebration Bowl win; and
- 30 WHEREAS, Taylor said he realized the team could be special
- 31 when the roster came together in the offseason. Jacobian Morgan,
- 32 the offensive MVP of the Celebration Bowl, retook the starting
- 33 quarterback job that week. A few games later, the defense
- 34 developed into a unit that never allowed more than 21 points in
- 35 the final eight games; and
- 36 WHEREAS, when Jackson State needed it most against South
- 37 Carolina State, the defense delivered. Morgan threw an
- 38 interception on the second play of the third quarter, setting up
- 39 the South Carolina Bulldogs on a short field only trailing 14-0.
- 40 An 11-yard sack on third down by Ashton Taylor booted them out of
- 41 field goal range. Three times the Bulldogs gained possession in
- 42 Tigers' territory but came away with zero points. Even after
- 43 Jackson State missed a field goal with five and a half minutes to

- 44 play that would have pushed the lead to three possessions, the
- 45 defense came through again with an interception. Morgan threw a
- 46 14-yard touchdown pass to Joanes Fortilien on the next play to
- 47 seal the win; and
- WHEREAS, the seven points allowed were the fewest in the
- 49 nine-game Celebration Bowl history. The 21-point margin of
- 50 victory also tied the most in Celebration Bowl history. That was
- 1 last achieved when South Carolina State defeated Sanders' Jackson
- 52 State 31-10 in 2021; and
- 53 WHEREAS, "Coach TC, knew what it looked like," said defensive
- 54 lineman Jeremiah Williams, the game's defensive MVP. "It's why he
- 55 won SWAC Coach of the Year. We've been here three times, and he
- 56 knew he was going to get it done eventually. It was the small
- 57 things. He put the pieces together"; and
- 58 WHEREAS, the Jackson State University National Championship
- 59 2024 Football Roster: Travis Terrell, Jr., Jeremiah Williams,
- 60 Rico Powers, Jr., Ke'Vric Wiggins, Jr., Ja'Naylon Dupree, Joshua
- 61 Nobles, Robert McDaniel, Zy McDonald, Tyquan Henderson, Tru
- 62 Thompson, Irv Mulligan, Cameron Smith, Esaias Guthrie, Cam'Ron
- 63 McCoy, Jameel Gardner, Jr., Reid Pulliam, J.D. Martin, Jaeden
- 64 Ward, Fabian McCray, B.J. Washington, Mike Smith III, Isaiah
- 65 Spencer, Allen Walker, Nireek Sharpe, Parker Stofa, Day Day
- 66 Bright, Richard Mays, Jr., Bryson Moss, Jacobian Morgan, Micah
- 67 Cherry, Joanes Fortilien, K.J. Chisolm, Errick Simmons, Austin
- 68 Edmonds, Ethan Terrell, Brandon Mitchell, Kobe Paul, Desmond

- 69 Moultrie, Nate Blount IV, Javarian Jenkins, Anthony Petty, Shamar
- 70 Hawkins, Josh Higgins, Javion Posey, Ahmad Miller, Joe Perkins,
- 71 Kobe Boykin, Ashton Taylor, Frankie Dunn, Jr., Daved Jones, Jr.,
- 72 John Brown, Leilani Armenta, Ezequiel Johnson, Donovan Warren,
- 73 Gerardo Baeza, Phillip Webb, Braxton Barney, Avery Salerno, Jace
- 74 Ward, Hunter Burns, Kenneth Jiles, Jr., Derrell Holston, Matt
- 75 Noll, Emari Matthews, Tymon Wells, J'Cori Hargon, Earick Williams
- 76 III, Douglas Fowler, Athen Smith, Bryce Owens, Cameron James,
- 77 Devin Love, Cyson Burk, Almetrius Smith, Jr., Brian Williams, Jr.,
- 78 Mason Barton, Jackson King, Success Chikezie, Zyon Walker,
- 79 Dequarious White, Kirk Ford, Jr., Evan Henry, Isaiah Villanneuva,
- 80 Kai Gadson, D'Andre Townes-Blue, Xavion Davis, Antonio Ross, Jr.,
- 81 Bruno Zandamela, Quaveon Davis, Jency Riley, Sebastien
- 82 Saint-Louis, Darren Bennett, Derek Scott, Marvin Landy, Marcadi
- 83 Johnson, Dimonyai Lacey, Zalan Barrett, Stanley Cooks, Kazarius
- 84 Bowie, Zyon Gilmore and Tyas Martin; and
- 85 WHEREAS, the 2024 Jackson State University Championship
- 86 Football Coaching Staff: TC Taylor, Head Coach; Otis Riddley,
- 87 Associate Head Coach/TE/General Manager; Torenzo Quinn, Defensive
- 88 Coordinator/Defensive Backs; Manny Ramirez, Run Game
- 89 Coordinator/Offensive Line; Eric Gallon, Running Backs; Vincent
- 90 Marshall, Wide Receivers; Rip Kirk, Quarterbacks; Chris Orr,
- 91 Linebackers; Kali James, Defensive Run Game Coordinator/Defensive
- 92 Line; Mario Magana, Jr., Cornerbacks; Javancy Jones, Special Teams
- 93 Coordinator/Outside Linebackers; Football Support Staff, Kiasha

- 94 Trammell, Director of Football Operations; Austin Robinson,
- 95 Director of Media Services; Jaylon Watson, Director of Football
- 96 Sports Performance; Brandon Morton, Director of Recruiting; Tenoa
- 97 Alex, Jr., Defensive Analyst; Kaleb Graham, Offensive Analyst;
- 98 Aaron Jackson, Defensive Analyst; and Bobby Mitchell, Offensive
- 99 Analyst; and
- 100 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize this
- 101 championship Mississippi university team which has brought honor
- 102 to their university, their community and to the State of
- 103 Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 105 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 106 we do hereby commend and congratulate the Jackson State University
- 107 Tigers Football Team and Head Coach TC Taylor for winning their
- 108 first Celebration Bowl, for claiming the Historically Black
- 109 Colleges and Universities Championship and for their outstanding
- 110 2024 season, and extend to the team, coaches, administration and
- 111 sponsors our best wishes for future success.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
- 113 Coach TC Tayler and the Jackson State University Tigers, forwarded
- 114 to JSU President Marcus Thompson and the Board of Trustees of
- 115 State Institutions of Higher Learning and made available to the
- 116 Capitol Press Corp.