MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Wiggins, Boyd, Turner-Ford, Thompson, Suber, Barrett, Blackmon, Fillingane, England, DeBar, McCaughn, McLendon, Simmons (12th), Hopson, Kirby, Sparks

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 501

1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMEMORATING AND HONORING THE 2 30-YEAR ANNIVERSARY OF THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THE MISSISSIPPI COURT 3 OF APPEALS AND COMMENDING ITS ACCOMPLISHMENTS. 4 WHEREAS, we join the members of The Mississippi Bar and the citizens of Mississippi in honoring the Mississippi Court of 5 Appeals on the occasion of its 30th Anniversary; and 6 7 WHEREAS, the Court of Appeals of Mississippi was statutorily created by the Mississippi Legislature in 1994. The new appellate 8 9 court was created due to the foresight of the Legislature, the 10 Governor, the Judiciary, and The Mississippi Bar, to aid the 11 Mississippi Supreme Court in resolving its overwhelming backlog of appeals and to share the future caseload with the Mississippi 12 13 Supreme Court; and 14 WHEREAS, the Legislature, the Judiciary, the Governor, and 15 the Mississippi Bar Association, became increasingly alarmed by 16 the backlog of appeals at the Mississippi Supreme Court created by an increase in litigation, interstate commerce, international 17 18 commerce and criminal cases. In 1987, the average delay between

19 trial and decision by the Mississippi Supreme Court had increased 20 to 715 days. In 1990, Mississippi had by far the largest population of the eleven states that had only a single appellate 21 22 court. Comprehensive studies of the judiciary after 1985 led to recurring proposals for the creation of an intermediate court. In 23 24 1993, these efforts resulted in legislation being enacted to create a five-member intermediate appellate court with one judge 25 26 from each of the then-existing congressional districts wherein the 27 judges would stand for partisan elections during the 1994 general 28 election; and

29 WHEREAS, during the 1994 legislative session, the Legislature enacted new legislation that doubled the size of the new appellate 30 The 1994 31 court to ten members and made the court nonpartisan. 32 legislation still called for the judges to be elected during the 1994 general election. Labor of countless persons made the new 33 34 court of appeals possible. To ensure that the decisions in future 35 appeals were timely, the 1995 Legislature passed legislation requiring the new appellate court to issue a decision in every 36 37 case that was filed on or after July 1, 1998, within 270 days 38 after the lawyers filed their final briefs. Prior to July 1, 39 1998, the new court was required to issue opinions expeditiously, 40 thereby allowing the court time to overcome the backlog of 41 appeals; and

42 WHEREAS, the first judges on this new court were sworn in on 43 January 3, 1995, at a public investiture service. The first

S. C. R. No. 501 **~ OFFICIAL ~** 25/SS36/R416 PAGE 2 (rdd\tb) 44 judges on the new court were as follows: Chief Judge John 45 Fraiser, Jr., who introduced the bill creating the Court of Appeals while serving in the Mississippi Senate, Judge Frank 46 47 Barber, Judge Billy Bridges (later a Chief Judge), Judge Thomas 48 Coleman, Judge Oliver Diaz (later a Mississippi Supreme Court 49 Justice), Judge Leslie King (later a Chief Judge and Mississippi Supreme Court Justice), Judge Roger McMillan (later a Chief 50 51 Judge), Judge Mary Libby Payne, and Judge Leslie Southwick (later 52 a Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals Judge). These initial judges 53 worked earnestly in resolving the backlog of appeals resulting in 54 the issuance of 529 opinions in 1995, 615 opinions in 1996, 701 55 opinions in 1997, and 578 opinions in 1998; and

56 WHEREAS, as time progressed, these initial judges departed 57 the court. The following judges stepped up to serve and carry the torch of ensuring fair, impartial, and timely justice: in 58 59 District 1, Judge Rook Moore, Chief Judge Donna Barnes, Judge 60 David Chandler (later a Mississippi Supreme Court Justice), Judge James Maxwell, Judge Jim Greenlee, and Judge John Weddle; in 61 62 District 2, Judge Jim Herring, Judge Tyree Irving, Judge Deborah 63 McDonald, Judge Ermea Jean Russell, Judge Ceola James, and Judge 64 Latrice Westbrooks; in District 3, Judge Larry Roberts, Judge Jack 65 Wilson, Judge Jim Brantley, Judge Thomas K. Griffis (later a Mississippi Supreme Court Justice), Judge Cory Wilson (later a 66 67 Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals Judge), Judge John Emfinger; in District 4, Judge Virginia Carter Carlton, Judge Greg Hinkebein, 68

S. C. R. No. 501 **~ OFFICIAL ~** 25/SS36/R416 PAGE 3 (rdd\tb) 69 Chief Judge Joe Lee, Judge David McCarty; in District 5, Judge 70 Bill Myers, Judge Eugene Fair, Judge Anthony (Tony) Lawrence, 71 Judge David Ishee (later a Mississippi Supreme Court Justice), 72 Judge Sean Tindell, Judge Joel Smith and Judge Amy St. Pé; and

73 WHEREAS, the Court of Appeals of Mississippi in its 30 years 74 of service successfully resolved the alarming backlog of appeals 75 pending at the Mississippi Supreme Court and hence forth has 76 successfully shared the appellate caseload issuing over 15, 365 77 merit opinions in a timely manner, issuing appellate decisions in 78 an average of 200 days, and handling over approximately 1000 79 motions a year. The Court of Appeals also successfully conducts 80 community outreach and education with a traveling court on-the-81 road program wherein the court hears cases in communities around 82 the state, and by providing legal education classes to numerous 83 groups, participating in externship programs for law students, and 84 hosting groups at the court; and

85 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the history 86 and level of commitment of this outstanding institution in the 87 Mississippi judicial branch of government and extend the heartfelt 88 thanks of the Legislature to these judges and support staff whose 89 professional work has ensured fair, impartial and timely justice 90 in Mississippi:

91 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 92 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That 93 we do hereby commemorate and honor the 30-year anniversary of the

S. C. R. No. 501 **~ OFFICIAL ~** 25/SS36/R416 PAGE 4 (rdd\tb) 94 establishment of the Mississippi Court of Appeals and commend its 95 accomplishments, and extend the heartfelt thanks of the 96 Legislature to this institution for its accomplishments. 97 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to 98 the Chief Judge of the Mississippi Court of Appeals at appropriate 99 ceremonies recognizing the history of the court and be made

100 available to the Capitol Press Corps.

S. C. R. No. 501 25/SS36/R416 PAGE 5 (rdd\tb) ST: Honor the 30-year Anniversary of the establishment of the Mississippi Court of Appeals and commend its accomplishments.