To: Rules

By: Representative McMillan

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 26

A RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING AND COMMENDING THE MEMBERS OF THE GERMANTOWN HIGH SCHOOL BAND UNDER THE LEADERSHIP OF BAND DIRECTOR JUSTIN HARVISON FOR WINNING THE 7A 2024 STATE MARCHING BAND CHAMPIONSHIP AND FOR THEIR OTHER OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENTS.

- 5 WHEREAS, the Germantown High School Band reigned supreme to
- $\,$ be named state champions after winning the 7A 2024 State Marching
- 7 Band Championship held at Northwest Rankin High School in Brandon,
- 8 Mississippi; and
- 9 WHEREAS, under the leadership of band director Justin
- 10 Harvison, this championship is the fourth state championship for
- 11 the band and the second in three years, as they won the state
- 12 title during the 2022 marching season when the school competed in
- 13 6A; they were the 7A State Runner-Up in 2023; and they took
- 14 first-place in the 5A State Championship in 2013 and 2017; and
- WHEREAS, in addition to being named 7A 2024 State Marching
- 16 Band Champions, the band members also took home first place in
- 17 Colorguard, General Effect, Music Performance and Visual
- 18 Performance, as well as third place in Percussion; and

19 WHEREAS, throughout their season of competition, the band 20 received a number of awards, as they were named grand champions at the Conquistador Classic at Olive Branch High School; they were a 21 22 finalist and took fourth place overall in the Bands of America 23 Memphis Regional, as well as Outstanding Visual Performance and 24 third place in Class 2A; and in addition to scoring All Superior ratings at state evaluations, they also claimed the Governor's Cup 25 at the Pearl Invitational and also finished the Bands of America 26 27 St. Louis Super Regional in the top 15 of 70 total bands; and WHEREAS, the band's 2024 field program, "Wild Card", was nine 28 29 minutes long and featured the music of Henry Purcell, Frank 30 Ticheli, Jules Massenet and Billie Eilish, giving the crowd a 31 variety of music from the Baroque to songs that have been on the 32 radio in the last year; and WHEREAS, the show was a crowd favorite at the various 33 34 competitions, and in addition to the musical variety, the show 35 also included some "unexpected" set pieces like slides that were incorporated into the performance; and 36 37 WHEREAS, the Germantown High School marching season is a long 38 process that begins with tryouts in April and continues into the 39 fall, and the 166 talented band members include the following: 40 Anna Allen, Bella Anderson, Logan Anderson, Jacob Angrum, Liliian

Bahou, Ryne Ball, Gideon Basden, Ethan Bass, Meredith Bell,

Lachlan Bennett, Taylur Blevins, Livi Kate Boone, Kiley Bryant,

Reagan Burrell, Zoey Calderon, Banks Cannady, Will Cannady, Nathan

26

41

42

43

- 44 Carney, Sarah Carney, Molly Carr, Will Carr, Ella Caruthers,
- 45 Olivia Case, Major Clem, Amari Conner, Jade Corder, Devin Correia,
- 46 Madison Davis, Joshua Dennis, Noah Dennis, Janey Denson, Presley
- 47 Elkins, Hudson Elliot, Mason Ellis, Bella Espinoza-Bruce, Aidan
- 48 Evans, Abigail Foley, Zoey Franklin, Albert French, Jackson
- 49 French, Madison French, Nicholas French, Joshua Fulcher, Marisol
- 50 Garcia, Madelynn Garland, Adriana Geno, Madison Gray, Morgan
- 51 Green, Stevie Guess, Olivia Mae Guthrie, William Edward (Eddie)
- 52 Hall, Cooper Hancock, Donovan Harris, Ma'Cauli Hawkins, Kaitlyn
- 53 Hawthorne, Kyndal Hering, Coleston Hill, Ray Holley, Katie
- 54 Honigfort, Demontavious Howard, Abby Huang, Landen Hunsucker,
- 55 Ayanna Johnson, Barrett Johnson, Ryan Johnson, Isabella Joiner,
- 56 Layla Jones, Armann Josan, Alex Kinney, Kaden Knoll, Jayden Kye,
- 57 Catherine Lacey, Skylar Lane, Alyssa Langham, Susie Letort, Sarah
- 58 Lin, Sophia Lin, Mary Love, Jay Mack, Nora Manasco, Ashby
- 59 Markovitz, Noah Marshall, Alex Martin, Andrew Martin, Justus
- 60 Martin, Aubree Mason, Chase Massengill, Jaylen Mathis, Nash
- 61 McLendon, Lizzie Middleton, Brooks Mitchell, Caiden Mooney, Caleb
- 62 Morgan, Sam Morris, Sophie Morris, Charlotte Moulder, Connor
- 63 Nichols, Natala Ninness, Frances Owens, Sophia Pandolfo, Michael
- 64 Patrick, Kristian Peoples, Crosby Petro, Preston Phillips, Kinsley
- 65 Poole, James Proctor-Dickson, Soraya Ratliff, Brooke Reid, Frank
- 66 (Ritt) Rittenhouse, Kenadi Roberson, Kaitlyn Robinson, Scarlett
- 67 Rolph, Brett Ross, Addison Rovolis, Elle Rowland, Lane Rowland,
- 68 Camden Russ, Kaden Saffle, Kylie Santucci, Christian Seawood,

- 69 Micah Short, Mason Sims, Audrey Smiley, James Smiley, Marleigh
- 70 Spratlan, Sam Stallings, Anna Stenmark, Jake Stewart, Thomas
- 71 Stoddard, Carter Swindoll, Bailey Sylve, Emily Thomas, Emory
- 72 Thomas, Skylar Thomas, Zarin Thomas, Camille Toles, Charlotte
- 73 Toney, Madi Tripi, Ashley Turner, Presley Vernon, Caitlyn Wagoner,
- 74 Harlyn Walker, Addison Warner, Brycen Weber, Natalee Welch, Aaron
- 75 Wesolowski, David Wesolowski, Julia West, Gabe White, Hunter
- 76 Whitehead, Jordan Wiley, Claire Wilkerson, Kambrey Williams,
- 77 Katelyn Williamsen, Jack Williamson, Clayton Wise, Gabe Withers,
- 78 Ava Martinez, Justin Harvison, Allison Taylor Craft, Darius
- 79 Valentine, Ryan Saul, Josh Craft, Jim Peacock, Carrie Swindoll and
- 80 Ethan Marcus; and
- 81 WHEREAS, the success of the band would not have been possible
- 82 without the instruction and guidance of band director Justin
- 83 Harvison, as well as the band staff, which includes six assistant
- 84 directors, several adjunct staff, and the full support of the
- 85 Germantown community; and
- 86 WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to
- 87 recognize and commend outstanding Mississippi students, especially
- 88 those such as the members of the Germantown High School Band, who
- 89 have brought honor to Germantown High School and to the State of
- 90 Mississippi:
- 91 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 92 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby
- 93 recognize and commend the members of the Germantown High School

- 94 Band under the leadership of Band Director Justin Harvison for
- 95 winning the 7A 2024 State Marching Band Championship and for their
- 96 other outstanding achievements, and extend best wishes for
- 97 continued success in all their future endeavors.
- 98 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 99 furnished to Director Justin Harvison and to the members of the
- 100 Capitol Press Corps.

