REGULAR SESSION 2025

By: Representatives Horan, Oliver, Rosebud To: Rules

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 68

1	1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULA:	TING THE
2	2 2024-2025 GRENADA HIGH SCHOOL CHARGERS FOOTBALL TEAM U	PON WINNING
3	THE MISSISSIPPI HIGH SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION (MH:	SAA) 6A
4	4 STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.	

- 5 WHEREAS, the 2024-2025 Grenada High School Chargers Football
- 6 Team reigned supreme at the Mississippi High School Activities
- 7 Association (MHSAA) Class 6A State Championship, marking the first
- 8 state championship title in program history; and
- 9 WHEREAS, on December 7, 2024, fans crowded The Rock at
- 10 Southern Miss to watch the Chargers showcase their exemplary skill
- 11 and determination on the field, and the team's remarkable
- 12 performance did not disappoint as they clinched the championship
- 13 title in a stunning 43-14 victory over the previously undefeated
- 14 Hattiesburg Tigers; and
- WHEREAS, though Hattiesburg scored an early 14-7 lead,
- 16 Grenada's impenetrable defense kept their opponent from gaining
- 17 ground, allowing only 82 yards in the final three quarters and
- 18 holding the Tigers to just 205 yards of total offense and 99 yards
- 19 passing; and

20	WHEREAS, undeterred by the stacked boxes from Hattiesburg or	
21	the pressure on the line of scrimmage, senior running back MaCaleb	
22	Taylor earned the title of State Championship MVP with 211 rushing	
23	rds on 29 carries for four touchdowns, and he finished the	
24	season with more than 2,700 rushing yards and 40 touchdowns; and	
25	WHEREAS, senior Jarques Perry, the heart and soul of	
26	Grenada's defensive line and MHSAA Class 6A Defensive Player of	
27	the Year, had 116 total tackles, including 31 tackles for loss,	
28	and 27 sacks with eight forced fumbles; and	
29	WHEREAS, the Chargers' previous loss to the West Jones	
30	Mustangs in the 2023 title game lit a fire under the team,	
31	motivating them to train even harder and return to the	
32	championship better than before, and their hard work paid off in	
33	spades, making their comeback victory that much sweeter; and	
34	WHEREAS, the team's ascent to the pinnacle of football	
35	excellence has been made manifest through the tenacious efforts of	
36	the team's athletes: Jarques Perry, Zayion Cotton, Jaeden Curry,	
37	Zach Townsend, Ekeyvion Noel, MaCaleb Taylor, Semaj Avery, Chance	
38	Jenkins, Ryan Spencer, Jahmani Washington, Jatavious Lewis, Drew	
39	Klinck, Brayden Trusty, Brayden Neathery, Jacorey Seals, Braydon	
40	Hardiman, LaQuaylon Steward, Jereon Reed, Richard Smith, Jacorey	
41	Shipp, Demetrius Ross, Tyler Edwards, Emmory Elliott, Myles Ross,	
42	raylon Hardiman, Cameon Noel, Tanner Fowler, Detraveon Conley,	
43	alik Taylor, Russell Roberson, Carson Honeycutt, Eli Clark,	
44	Marcus Mallett, Layne Gillon, Trenn Brown, Ethan Dorris, Aiden	

- 45 Reno, DJ Dollison, CJ Lumas, Austin Moore, Ray Champman, Khristian
- 46 Everett, Michael Cavanaugh, Damareon Sims, DJ Westmoreland, Ryan
- 47 Williams, Justin Hollingsworth, Logan Costilow, Brysen Arbuckle,
- 48 Deandre Fray, Jordan Cunningham, Mason Hughes, Bryson Waugh, Cadin
- 49 Windham, Preston Downs, Javaris Bledsoe, Christian Moore, Frank
- 50 Sanders, Jamison Hayes, John Hollingsworth, Kameron Washington,
- 51 Luke Manelli, Jay Ray, Devin Jolliff, Malik Gholston, Dakota
- 52 Barksdale, Nelson Downs, Matthew Sills, Jayceron Gardner, Javaious
- 53 Collins, Aiden Tharpe, Darrion Harris, Quan Bland, Gamari Govan,
- 54 Caiden Baker, Jamion McClusky, Otis Cashaw, Jaylen Singleton,
- 55 Tyrus Russell, Prentiss Sledge, Brody Jackson, Enis Johnson,
- 56 Hayden Lee, Andrew Fair, Eli Palmer, Houston Whittemore, Garan
- 57 Edwards, Randy Winters, and Corday Singleton; and
- 58 WHEREAS, anchored by exceptional individual performances, the
- 59 Chargers have been led by a slate of standouts on the gridiron
- 60 this season, with 21 student-athletes chosen to join select teams,
- 61 including All Region Team Offense: MaCaleb Taylor (Offensive
- 62 Player of the Year), Quan Bland, Zayion Cotton, Javaris Bledsoe,
- 63 Chance Jenkins, Brayden Trusty, Jaeden Curry, Jordan Cunningham,
- 64 and Frank Sanders; All Region Team Defense: Jarques Perry
- 65 (Defensive Player of the Year), Semaj Avery, Jahmani Washington,
- 66 Zach Townsend, Demetreus Ross, Tyler Edwards, Ekeyvion Noel,
- 67 Braydon Hardiman, Jereon Reed, Tay Lewis, and Ryan Spencer;
- 68 Special Teams: Carson Honeycutt; and All State Team: Jarques

- 69 Perry, MaCaleb Taylor, Jahmani Washington, Zayion Cotton, and
- 70 Javaris Bledsoe; and
- 71 WHEREAS, the Chargers have been superbly coached and inspired
- 72 by Head Coach Michael Fair, Offensive Coordinator Scott Martin,
- 73 Defensive Coordinator Jim Tindall, Special Teams Coordinator
- 74 Mitchell Harville, and Assistant Coaches Justin Purvis, Kendrick
- 75 Conley, Andrew Whyte, Jordan England, and Jerimy Watson, and in
- 76 recognition of their expert leadership, this elite group was named
- 77 the 2024 Class 6A Coaching Staff of the Year; and
- 78 WHEREAS, the members of this distinguished team will surely
- 79 treasure the memories they have made throughout their incredible
- 80 14-1 season, constantly flooded with the feeling of greatness that
- 81 accompanies being a champion as they recall bringing the school's
- 82 first gold ball home to Grenada; and
- 83 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize
- 84 and commend outstanding Mississippi student-athletes, especially
- 85 those such as the Grenada High School Chargers Football Team,
- 86 whose talent, grit, and perseverance bring great honor to their
- 87 school, their community, and the State of Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 89 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
- 90 THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the 2024-2025
- 91 Grenada High School Chargers Football Team upon winning the
- 92 Mississippi High School Activities Association (MHSAA) Class 6A

- 93 State Championship, and extend best wishes to the team for
- 94 continued success in all their future endeavors.
- 95 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 96 furnished to the Grenada High School Chargers Football Team and to
- 97 the members of the Capitol Press Corps.

PAGE 5 (ELS\KP)