To: Rules

24/SS36/R1495 PAGE 1 (rdd\kr)

By: Senator(s) Boyd, Suber

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 126

| 1 2 3 4 | A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE LAFAYETTE HIGH SCHOOL "COMMODORES" TENNIS TEAM AND COACH DEBBIE SWINDOLL FOR WINNING THEIR FOURTH CONSECUTIVE MHSAA CLASS 5A STATE TENNIS CHAMPIONSHIP. |
|------------------|--|
| 5 | WHEREAS, Lafayette High School Head Coach Debbie Swindoll |
| 6 | displayed the trophy to the cheers of the team after the |
| 7 | "Commodores" defeated Stone County to win the MHSAA Class 5A State |
| 8 | Tennis Championship in Oxford, Mississippi, on April 22, 2024; and |
| 9 | WHEREAS, Lafayette High School won its fourth-straight State |
| 10 | Championship with a dramatic 4-3 win over Stone County in the |
| 11 | MHSAA Class 5A Tennis Championship game; and |
| 12 | WHEREAS, with the match count tied at three, Lafayette's |
| 13 | boys' doubles team of DJ Hayes and Finn Rico scored the last five |
| 14 | points in a third-set tiebreaker to clinch the win; and |
| 15 | WHEREAS, Lafayette had reached the finals after defeating |
| 16 | Brookhaven 4-3 in a semifinal match earlier in the day; and |
| 17 | WHEREAS, the 2024 Lafayette High School "Commodores" State |
| 18 | Championship Tennis Team Roster is: Peyton Allen, Caroline Butts, |
| 19 | Ethan Byrd, Chloe Childress, Stanley George, DJ Hayes, Cate |
| | S. R. No. 126 WWW WWW ~ OFFICIAL ~ N1/2 |

- 20 Hughes, Reed Jordan, Alexandra Lampton, Jenna Kate Lampton, Jake
- 21 Leary, Porter Lindsay, Parker Martin, Sarah Puckett, Finley Rico,
- 22 Amelia Roeder, Lila Sealy, Tryston Schweigart, Cohen Scruggs,
- 23 Bentli Spicer, Tatum Spicer, Annelyse Smith, Owens Smith, Bailey
- 24 Tatum, Presley Thomas, Anthony Vazquez, Luke Westmoreland, Alex
- 25 Wilkinson and Finley Wright; Head Coach, Debbie Swindoll; and
- 26 Assistant Coaches: Ryan Mounce, Ashley Holcomb and Caitlin
- 27 Thomas; and
- 28 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize these
- 29 student athletes who through this incredible winning streak have
- 30 brought honor to their school, their community and to the State of
- 31 Mississippi:
- 32 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 33 MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the
- 34 Lafayette High School "Commodores" Tennis Team and Coach Debbie
- 35 Swindoll for winning their fourth consecutive MHSAA Class 5A State
- 36 Tennis Championship and extend to the team, coaches, parents and
- 37 sponsors our best wishes for future success.
- 38 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
- 39 Coach Debbie Swindoll and Lafayette High School Principal Eric
- 40 Robertson, forwarded to the Lafayette County Board of Education
- 41 and made available to the Capitol Press Corps.