By: Senator(s) Harkins

1

To: Rules

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 39

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE HARTFIELD

2	ACADEMY "HAWKS" FOOTBALL TEAM AND HEAD COACH CRAIG BOWMAN FOR WINNING THEIR FIRST-EVER MAIS 6A STATE FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP.
4	WHEREAS, history was made on November 18, 2023, as the
5	Hartfield Academy "Hawks" football team secured its first-ever
6	MAIS 6A State Championship, solidifying an undefeated season with
7	a flawless 14-0 record. The championship game, against rival
8	Jackson Prep, unfolded at Mississippi College, marking a
9	significant milestone in the school's athletic history; and
10	WHEREAS, under the leadership of Head Coach Craig Bowman, who
11	took leadership in July 2020, the team displayed exceptional
12	skill, teamwork and resilience throughout the season. Coach
13	Bowman's record of 41 wins and 9 losses since joining the program
14	attests to the transformative impact he has had on the team; and
15	WHEREAS, the Hartfield Academy football team finished their
16	2023 season undefeated and secured their first state championship
17	as a program. The "Hawks" shut out defending champion Jackson

Prep 21-0 and finished their season 14-0; and

18

20 shared his favorite memories and reflections on the championship team's journey. "I took over this program in July of 2020, and 21 22 from that moment, there were several things I wanted our players 23 to understand and embrace. The first thing was our 'ALL IN' 24 theme. First, we want them to be all in with their faith. Second, to be all in with their family. Then their academics, and 25 26 finally with football. Championships are fun and bring a lot of 27 excitement, but we are unwilling to compromise the message of our faith for the trophy given at the end of a season"; and 28 29 WHEREAS, the Hartfield Academy 2023-2024 varsity football championship roster: Kenzy West, Bralan Womack, Kaden Catchings, 30 31 Twaskie Jones, Chris Jones, Bralen Steele, Jaxon Jenkins, Cooper 32 Howard, Josh Wooten, Reed Jesiolowski, Cayman Tapper, Connor 33 Elliott, Reginald Vaughn, Hayden McMinn, Dereck Lazo, L.J. Davis, 34 Woods Roberson, Alex Rushing, Sam Sheffield, Spence Bradshaw, John 35 Davis, Brayden Graham, Reid Gaston, Brandon A. Turner, Brad Myers, John Shimfessel, Silas Sorey, Ian Hollingsworth, London Simmons, 36 37 Jaden Stingley, Jordyn Erves, Cooper Clark, Coleman Williams, 38 Payne Weaver, Sam Stumph, Cole Stumph, Xavier Horne, Antonio Ross, 39 Jr., Jeremy Kersh, Skye Dilworth, Colby Kelly and Head Coach Craig

WHEREAS, in talking with Coach Bowman after the win, he

WHEREAS, we join the Hartfield Academy community, players and

fans in celebrating this historic win, cherishing the memories of

Bowman; and

40

41

42

19

- 43 a season that will be remembered for years to come, leaving a mark
- 44 on Hartfield's legacy:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 46 MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the
- 47 Hartfield Academy "Hawks" Football Team and Head Coach Craig
- 48 Bowman for winning their first-ever MAIS 6A State Football
- 49 Championship, and extend to the team, coaches, faculty and
- 50 students our best wishes for continued athletic and academic
- 51 success.
- 52 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to
- 53 Coach Craig Bowman for the team, forwarded to the Principal David
- 54 Horner and Board of Trustees of Hartfield Academy and made
- 55 available to the Capitol Press Corps.