MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Turner-Ford, Barnett, Younger To: Rules

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 9

1 A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE WEST POINT 2 "GREEN WAVE" FOOTBALL TEAM AND COACH CHRIS CHAMBLESS FOR WINNING 3 ITS STATE RECORD 12TH MHSAA CLASS 5A CHAMPIONSHIP. 4 WHEREAS, West Point football coach Chris Chambliss says his team has gone by one motto the whole year: "Refuse to lose and be 5 a pro." In the MHSAA 5A State Final on November 29, 2023, his 6 7 team fulfilled that goal and more; and 8 WHEREAS, the West Point "Green Wave" football team (11-3) 9 defeated Laurel 35-7 on a wet and cold night at Ole Miss' Vaught-Hemingway Stadium. This was the "Green Wave's" fifth state 10 11 title in the past nine years and 12th overall, the most in the MHSAA history; and 12 13 WHEREAS, the "Green Wave's" relentness running game quickly 14 swamped the "Golden Tornadoes'" title hopes. "Most Valuable 15 Player" Kahnen Daniels rushed for 253 yards and three touchdowns; 16 and WHEREAS, the "Green Wave" had been tied with South Panola and 17 18 Louisville high schools for the most high school football titles

S. R. No. 9 **~ OFFICIAL ~** N1/2 24/SS08/R338 PAGE 1 (rdd\kr) 19 in Mississippi, with each school sporting 11 crowns since the 20 modern playoff system was introduced in the 1908 playoff. The 21 "Green Wave" (11-3) used long runs to set up short touchdowns, 22 rolling up 447 yards total offense, all on the ground, while 23 Laurel (8-7), had come into Oxford on a late-season surge; and 24 WHEREAS, West Point triggerman Quinterion Tillman-Evans ran

for another 1129 yards and two touchdowns on 16 carries. West Point attempted just three passes on the night. Daniels' second 4-yard scoring run of the game tacked on the final tally for the "Green Wave"; and

29 WHEREAS, the 2023-2024 Championship West Point Roster: Kyair Parker, Shun Crawford, Marcus Murphy, Kahnen Daniels, Keimon 30 31 Ewing, Kaleb Dyson, Quantaze Powell, Quinterion Tillman-Evans, A.J. Lee, Colt Whitacre, Coledan Carter, Jykeon Cunningham, Kobe 32 33 Hammond, Dantariyus Cannon, Walker Moore, Louis Facella, Eric 34 Blanchard, Quentin Thompson, Jemarquez Melton, Tyler Robertson, 35 Iaquavis Cunningham, Jorden Rush, Cameron Walker, Jakobe Pate, Devin Jones, Justin White, Branson Rainey, Brentston Edwards, 36 37 Jamarquez Petty, Jermarion Edwards, Jaylen Cungious, Jermaine 38 Elliott, Alex Harper, Quantarrius Dawson, Ladavious Harris, 39 Tristen Eggerson, Joseph Vance, Davieon Rice, D.J. Moseley, 40 Jamichael Forest, Cameron Donald, Jamarcus Shumpert, Tysean Darden, Isaiah Cunningham, Rasheed Harris, Maurice Hall, Denarrion 41 42 Tallie, Kylan Cox, D'monte Jefferson, Kontarion Avant, Lajarvis 43 Ewing, Kasavion Shelton, Blake Tillman, Jermari Rush, Jaylin Rush,

S. R. No. 9 **~ OFFICIAL ~** 24/SS08/R338 PAGE 2 (rdd\kr) 44 Tyrin Ewing, Vashawn Ross, Josh Lairy, Jordan Chandler, Xavier 45 Moody, Jaylon Moore, McKinvein McKinney, Bryson Gandy, Dakorian Raines, Markel Walker, Jylis Penson, Drake Stafford, Deandre 46 Young, Taurus Gunn, Keandre Young, Zay Lowery, Tytus Davidson, 47 48 Bryson Thomas, Marquez Randle, Felix Blair, Jalon Sanders, 49 Emmanuel Davidson, Tyran Cox, Curtyrion Bilbo, Justin Collins, 50 Elijah Lowery, Jervon Davenport, Jose Lemus, Ronald Odneal, Jabari 51 Cunningham, KeAris Smith, Tyjai Matthews, Tychreshon Orr, Makeal 52 Box, Quent Rupert, Thaddeus Evans, Jacobe Scott, Shaun Blair, 53 Jamarion Bell, Wesley Blanchard, Tyren Warren, Jaquez Davis, Tray 54 Bell, Josh Gray, Tyzarious Townsend, Wade Hamby, Javon Randle and 55 Rashaud Greenlee; and

56 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize this group 57 of student athletes who have brought honor to their school, their 58 community and to the state of Mississippi:

59 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 60 MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the West 61 Point "Green Wave" football team and Coach Chris Chambless for 62 winning its state record 12th MHSAA Class 5A Championship, and 63 extend the best wishes of the Legislature to the team, coaches, 64 parents and sponsors for future success.

65 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to 66 Coach Chris Chambless for the team and West Point Principal Tameka 67 Shannon, forwarded to the West Point School Board of Trustees and 68 be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.

S. R. No. 9	······································
24/SS08/R338 PAGE 3 (rdd\kr)	ST: Congratulate West Point "Green Wave" Football Team for record 12th state
	championship.