By: Representatives Hawkins, Deweese To: Rules

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 154

1 2 3	A RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING AND COMMENDING LAFAYETTE HIGH SCHOOL COMMODORES TENNIS TEAM FOR WINNING THE 2024 MISSISSIPPI HIGH SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION CLASS 5A TENNIS STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.								
4	WHEREAS, the Lafayette High School Commodores Tennis Team								
5	reigned supreme against Stone County at the 2024 Mississippi High								
6	School Activities Association (MHSAA) Class 5A Tennis State								
7	Championship, the team's fourth consecutive state title; and								
8	WHEREAS, striving to win with unparalleled motivation and								
9	ardent determination, the Commodores' mental stamina and athletic								
10	prowess never wavered from the moment they entered the court until								
11	they claimed their well deserved championship title with a 4-3								
12	win; and								
13	WHEREAS, the team's statistics were impressive during its								
14	season, but the key to the Commodores' consistent success has been								
15	the tremendous dedication and year-round hard work by the team's								
16	talented players; and								
17	WHEREAS, the 2024 Lafayette High School Commodores Tennis								
18	Team is comprised of the following distinguished student-athletes:								

- 19 Peyton Allen, Caroline Butts, Ethan Byrd, Chloe Childress, Stanley
- 20 George, DJ Hayes, Cate Hughes, Reed Jordan, Alexandra Lampton,
- 21 Jenna Kate Lampton, Jake Leary, Porter Lindsey, Parker Martin,
- 22 Sarah Puckett, Finley Rico, Amelia Roeder, Lila Sealy, Tryston
- 23 Schweigart, Cohen Scruggs, Bentli Spicer, Tate Spicer, Annelyse
- 24 Smith, Owens Smith, Bailey Tatum, Presley Thomas, Anthony Vazquez,
- 25 Luke Westmoreland, Alex Wilkinson and Finley Wright; and
- 26 WHEREAS, in addition to being included on this illustrious
- 27 tennis team, Alexandra Lampton has also won back-to-back Class 5A
- 28 Girls Singles at the MHSAA State Tennis Championships, a truly
- 29 outstanding accomplishment; and
- 30 WHEREAS, the Commodores have been superbly coached and
- 31 inspired by Head Coach Debbie Swindoll, and Assistant Coaches
- 32 Ryan Mounce, Ashley Holcomb and Caitlin Thomas, who have broadened
- 33 the team's knowledge of the game and refined their skills in
- 34 execution; and
- 35 WHEREAS, in their tireless dedication, the Commodores have
- 36 developed a winning, cooperative spirit and a high degree of
- 37 sportsmanship, and their activities and attitudes reflect great
- 38 credit upon the individual players, Coach Swindoll, and the
- 39 assistant coaches; and
- 40 WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to
- 41 recognize exceptional Mississippi student-athletes, especially
- 42 those such as the Lafayette High School Commodores Tennis Team,

43	whose	nard	work,	dedication,	and	excellence	on	the	ileld	brings

- 44 honor to Lafayette High School and the State of Mississippi:
- 45 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 46 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby
- 47 commend and congratulate the Lafayette High School Commodores
- 48 Tennis Team and Head Coach Debbie Swindoll upon winning the 2024
- 49 MHSAA Class 5A Tennis State Championship, and extend best wishes
- 50 to the Commodores for continued success in all their future
- 51 athletic and academic endeavors.
- 52 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 53 furnished to Head Coach Debbie Swindoll, on behalf of the
- 54 Lafayette High School Commodores Tennis Team, and to the members
- 55 of the Capitol Press Corps.