To: Rules

1

18

By: Representative Oliver

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 112

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE WINONA HIGH

2 SCHOOL TIGERS FOOTBALL TEAM AND HEAD COACH JOEY TOMPKINS FOR WINNING THE MISSISSIPPI HIGH SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION CLASS 3A STATE FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP, THEIR FIRST IN PROGRAM HISTORY. 5 WHEREAS, the Winona High School Football Team reigned supreme at the 2023 Mississippi High School Activities Association (MHSAA) 6 7 Class 3A State Championship when they defeated Noxubee County High School 34-27 to win their first football state championship in 8 program history; and 9 10 WHEREAS, bursting with wit and athleticism, the Winona High School Football Team's mental stamina and determination never 11 12 waivered from the moment they ran onto the field until the last 13 down was played; and 14 WHEREAS, the Tigers, who were driven by more than just the yearning to succeed, finished their undefeated 14-0 season, and 15 then intensely amplified all of their hard work and motivation, 16 17 which were so apparent throughout the entire season, for the

championship game; and

- 19 WHEREAS, in addition to being named state champions, several
- 20 individual players won awards, including Chase Richardson, who was
- 21 named MHSAA 3A Mr. Football; Head Coach Joey Tompkins was named
- 22 Coach of the Year; Defensive Player of the Year was junior
- 23 linebacker Tyler Lockhart; First Team Offense included Chase
- 24 Richardson and T.J. Lockhart; Second Team Offense was Troylando
- 25 Eden and Kam'Ron Richardson; First Team Defense was Fred Clark and
- 26 A'jerrian Garrett; and Second Team Defense was Chance Robinson and
- 27 Tristin Purnell; and
- 28 WHEREAS, several players were also named to the Clarion
- 29 Ledger All State Small Class First Team, including T.J. Lockhart,
- 30 who was chosen because they helped Winona win its first MHSAA 3A
- 31 state title, and Tyler Lockhart, who was chosen because he
- 32 recorded 100 tackles, 11 sacks and 28 tackles for loss, leading
- 33 Winona on defense and its first MHSAA 3A state title, and Second
- 34 Team players included wide receiver Troylando Eden and linebacker
- 35 Fred Clark; and
- 36 WHEREAS, the Winona High School Tigers Championship Football
- 37 roster is comprised of the following talented athletes: Zaishun
- 38 Nash, Kam'Ron Robinson, Danarius Robinson, Chase Richardson,
- 39 Jemarius Sanders, Eric Boone, Javien Jackson, Fred Clark, Chance
- 40 Richardson, Kylan Stinson, Tristin Purnell, Tristan Richardson,
- 41 Jayden Washington, Tommarion Brown, Landon Crawford, Troylando
- 42 Eden, A'jerrian Garrett, Tyler Lockhart, Antrion Kinnel, Kentrell
- 43 Crawford, Aubrey Bailey, Elijah McCaskill, Jordan Richardson,

- 44 Cuvari Davis, Connor Helms, Yoshawn Hudson, D.J. Johnson,
- 45 Quantavis Small, Miles Bailey, Latavis Small, DC Campbell, Ethan
- 46 Miller, D.J. Forrest, Jalon Oliver, Jakorrius Harvey, Jaylen
- 47 Hardimon, Navarius Davis, Hammond Ausitn, Walynn Varnes, Mark
- 48 Tyler, Dejuan McChristian, Deteppion Mallett, Zaire Amos, Javion
- 49 Young, Jaedyn Acquah, Joe Reed Tompkins, Ja'Shawn Campbell,
- 50 Omarion Eskridge, Tyson Butts, Neal Roberts, Ethan Green, Brent
- 51 Herbert, Antonio Young, Ty'marion Kilpatrick, Ethan Bailey, Aidan
- 52 Chapman, Reginald Campbell, Arig Gross, Quincy Burt, Fredrick
- 53 Woods, James Campbell, Bryce Tate, T.K. Small, Kolin Phillips,
- 54 T.J. Lockhart, Wheeler Chandler, Quan Bland, Alston Crouch and
- 55 Jakorian Eskridge; and
- 56 WHEREAS, Head Coach Joey Tompkins has superbly coached and
- 57 inspired the Tigers and broadened their knowledge of the game
- 58 while refining their skills in execution, and he continues to
- 59 build upon the legacy of superior play and true sportsmanship
- 60 forged by the tenacious and undaunted spirit of each team member,
- 61 as evidenced in his ability to produce high caliber players and
- 62 plays and by the team's successful season; and
- 63 WHEREAS, the team's success would not have been possible
- 64 without the help of Offensive Coordinator Philip Jordan, Defensive
- 65 Coordinator Ben Burton, Assistant Coaches Atavis Campbell, Adam
- 66 Bobo, Dane Milling, Steven Helms and Jacob Dickson, Statistician
- 67 Andy Bridges, and Athletic Director Veronica Helms; and

| 68 | WHEF | REAS, Mar | agers | Julien | Duren, | Skylar | Glenn, | Jayvien |
|----|----------|-----------|-------|---------|---------|----------|---------|----------|
| 69 | Flowers, | Demarior | Hudso | on, Mar | io Town | send, De | euce Ca | ampbell, |

- 70 Willie Johnson, Ayden Johnson, Tee Eden and Alejandro White have
- 71 each helped the Winona Tigers achieve their dream of winning a
- 72 state championship; and
- 73 WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to
- 74 recognize and honor the achievements of student-athletes such as
- 75 the Winona High School Tigers Football Team, who have brought
- 76 honor to their school, the City of Winona and to the State of
- 77 Mississippi:

- 78 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 79 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby
- 80 commend and congratulate the Winona High School Tigers Football
- 81 Team and Head Coach Joey Tompkins for winning the Mississippi High
- 82 School Activities Association Class 3A State Football
- 83 Championship, their first in program history, and extend best
- 84 wishes for continued success in all their future endeavors.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 85
- 86 furnished to Head Coach Joey Tompkins and to the members of the
- 87 Capitol Press Corps.