24/HR26/R2324 PAGE 1 (ENK\KW)

By: Representatives Powell, Yancey To: Rules

## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 62

1 2 3 4	A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE HARTFIELD ACADEMY HAWKS FOOTBALL TEAM AND HEAD COACH CRAIG BOWMAN FOR WINNING THE MIDSOUTH ASSOCIATION OF INDEPENDENT SCHOOLS (MAIS) CLASS AAAAAA STATE FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP.
5	WHEREAS, the Hartfield Academy Varsity Football Team reigned
6	supreme at the 2023 Midsouth Association of Independent Schools
7	(MAIS) Class AAAAAA State Football Championship at Mississippi
8	College's Robinson-Hale Stadium when they defeated Jackson Prep
9	21-0 to win their first football state championship in program
10	history; and
11	WHEREAS, the Hartfield football team played a 12-game regular
12	season schedule and two post-season games, and they earned the
13	number one seed for the MAIS playoffs after defeating all their
14	district opponents in the regular season, including Presbyterian
15	Christian School, Madison-Ridgeland Academy, Jackson Prep, Saint
16	Joseph Catholic School and Jackson Academy; and
17	WHEREAS, bursting with wit and athleticism, the Hartfield
18	Academy Hawks Football Team's mental stamina and determination
19	never waivered from the moment they ran onto the field until the
	H. R. No. 62

20	last down was played, scoring 598 points through 14 games, while
21	only yielding 184 points to their formidable opponents; and
22	WHEREAS, the Hawks, who were driven by more than just the
23	yearning to succeed, finished their first ever undefeated 14-0
24	season, and they intensely amplified all of their hard work and
25	motivation, which were so apparent throughout the entire season,
26	for the championship game; and
27	WHEREAS, striving all season long to be the best football
28	program in the state, the Hartfield Hawks put aside the
29	excitement, fanfare and attention to focus on the championship
30	game and prepare as they had throughout the season, and they truly
31	embraced their "ALL IN" culture and trust in each other which
32	allowed them to bring the coveted trophy back to the Hartfield
33	Academy trophy case for the first time; and
34	WHEREAS, in addition to winning their first ever state
35	championship and completing their first ever undefeated season,
36	the Hawks achieved several other titles throughout the season,
37	including being named the 2023 Class AAAAAA District Championship;
38	Head Coach Craig Bowman was named Class AAAAAA MAIS Coach of the
39	Year and Mississippi Scoreboard Coach of the Year; Reed
40	Jesiolowski was named Class AAAAAA MAIS Offensive Player of the
41	Year; Chris Jones was named Class AAAAAA MAIS Defensive Player of

All-Purpose Player of the Year; and

the Year; and Bralan Womack was named Class AAAAAA MAIS

42

43

20

44	WHEREAS, the 2023 Hartfield Academy Hawks Championship
45	Football roster is comprised of the following talented athletes:
46	Kenzy West, Bralan Womack, KD Catchings, Twaskie Jones, Chris
47	Jones, Bralen Steele, Jaxon Jenkins, Cooper Howard, Josh Wooten,
48	Ethan Elliott, Reed Jesiolowski, Cayman Tapper, Conner Elliott,
49	Reginald Vaughn, Hayden McMinn, Dereck Lazo, Ford Ray, Foster
50	Watts, Dylan Harris, LJ Davis, Woods Roberson, Alex Rushing, King
51	Gibbs, Sam Sheffield, Spence Bradshaw, John Davis, Brayden Graham,
52	Stone Stogner, Brodie Hutton, Reid Gaston, Brandon Turner, Cruz
53	Nesbit, Brad Myers, JP Shimfessel, Owen Stroh, Garrett Gilbert,
54	Silas Sorey, Ian Hollingsworth, London Simmons, Jaden Stingley,
55	Jordyn Erves, Cooper Clark, Coleman Williams, Payne Weaver, Colby
56	Kelly, Sam Stumph, Rob Horner, Joseph Adcox, Cole Stumph, Andrew
57	Gonzalez, Antonio Ross, Rory Vaughn, Jeremy Kersh, Skye Dilworth,
58	John Clark, AJ Rushing, Ty Cannon and Justus Wallace; and
59	WHEREAS, Head Coach Craig Bowman has superbly coached and
60	inspired the Hawks and broadened their knowledge of the game while
61	refining their skills in execution, and he continues to build upon
62	the legacy of superior play and true sportsmanship forged by the
63	tenacious and undaunted spirit of each team member, as evidenced
64	in his ability to produce high caliber players and plays and by
65	the team's successful season; and
66	WHEREAS, the team's success would not have been possible
67	without the help of Assistant Coaches Jeff McFerran, Cody Saxton,
68	Shane Schurb, Stuardt Saxton, Pack Toler, Lee Dawkins, Ricky

- 69 Clark, Darrell Tucker, Ryan Lindsey, Will Davis, Jarrett Myers and
- 70 Collin Owens; and
- 71 WHEREAS, trainer, Allie Simpson; student assistant, Noah
- 72 Lewis; student trainers, Lainey Walker, Aubrey Dew, Carson Smith,
- 73 Bella Vega, Izzy Roland, Trinity Penton, Reagan Swan, MC Sensing
- 74 and Maggie Clark; videographer, Ruel Ingram and Hayden Hughes; and
- 75 ball boys, Ben Bowman, Sam Bowman, Maddox Johnson, Jonas Jenkins
- 76 and Aven Clark have each helped the Hartfield Hawks achieve their
- 77 dream of winning a state championship; and
- 78 WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to
- 79 recognize and honor the achievements of student-athletes such as
- 80 the Hartfield Academy Hawks Football Team, who have brought honor
- 81 to their school, the City of Flowood and to the State of
- 82 Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 84 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby
- 85 commend and congratulate the Hartfield Academy Hawks Football Team
- 86 and Head Coach Craig Bowman for winning the Midsouth Association
- 87 of Independent Schools (MAIS) Class AAAAAA State Football
- 88 Championship and extend best wishes for continued success in all
- 89 their future endeavors.
- 90 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 91 furnished to Head Coach Craig Bowman and to the members of the
- 92 Capitol Press Corps.