To: Rules

1

18

By: Representative Mickens

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 29

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE LOUISVILLE

2 3 4	HIGH SCHOOL "WILDCATS" FOOTBALL TEAM AND TRIPLE STATE TITLE COACH TYRONE SHORTER FOR WINNING THE 2023 MISSISSIPPI HIGH SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION (MHSAA) CLASS 4A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.
5	WHEREAS, Louisville High School's reign in Mississippi high
6	school football has been solidified with its 12th state title; and
7	WHEREAS, the MHSAA Class 4A Championship game at Ole Miss'
8	Vaught-Hemingway Stadium on December 2, 2023, showed the
9	Louisville "Wildcats'" (15-0) dominance; and
10	WHEREAS, with six minutes left and Columbia down to the
11	21-yard line, Semaj Knowles intercepted on the 5-yard line. After
12	a three-and-out, Columbia's second drive to the 40-yard line
13	resulted in an interception in the end zone by Kameron Triplett.
14	There were two potential scoring drives, and two stops by
15	Louisville. Louisville beat three schools that reached MHSAA
16	championship games this year during the regular season -
17	Starkville, Noxubee County and West Point. These victories helped

Louisville immensely in preparation for this year's playoffs; and

19	WHEREAS, Coach Tyrone Shorter chalked up Louisville's success
20	to "hard work and dedication." He explained, "These guys come to
21	work every single day. Our defense has been playing great all
22	year. That's what we do in Louisville, we build our defenses."
23	In the first half, Louisville's defense shined, only allowing 58
24	total yards with no scores. In the second half, they allowed only
25	one scoring drive and two turnovers, sealing the win; and
26	WHEREAS, with Louisville having a 12-1 record in MHSAA
27	football title games dating back to 1924, Shorter becomes the
28	first coach in program history to win three state titles; and
29	WHEREAS, Louisville's 12th state championship ties the state
30	record with West Point for the most in MHSAA history; and
31	WHEREAS, the 2023 "Wildcats" Championship roster is: Xzarion
32	Haynes, Jykevious Goss, Timothy Hoskins, Dakota Steele, Kendon
33	Sanders, Jayllun Hoskins, Jayshunn Robbins, Jaylin Jordan, Xavier
34	Hunt, Corxavier Coleman, TayQuon McKinney, Kenneth Hill, Deniro
35	Jackson, Lagarious Wraggs, Tynarius Wraggs, Robert Long, Kamron
36	Triplett, Joshua Ammons, Triston Edwards, Semaj Knowles, Khalin
37	Macon, Jordan Hunt, Armon Triplett, Zaiden Jernigan, Travon
38	McDonald, Korben Sanders, Jamarion King, Jacari Owens, Dallas Lee,
39	Caden Thompkins, Tyler Glenn, Ayden Coleman, Jaylin Crosby,
40	Donatavious Lewis, Camrin Jones, Zamonte Carter, Mitchell Turner,
41	Kevulon Turner, Imarrion Parker, Errieyon Thomas, Zytavious
42	Pledge, Javonte Wraggs, Tivonney Carter, Dyjalen Miller, Gregory
43	Jernigan, Ladarroius Cunnigham, Larium Miller, Jeremiah Jackson,

- 44 Seth Fairley, Cory Brock, Wynn Ewing, Marquavion Jackson, Camerron
- 45 Skeen, Jeremiah Ash, Dontea Cross, Mario Johnson, Jayden Lee,
- 46 Tyler Tate, Christopher Hickman, Kellon Mann, Noah Childs, Davin
- 47 Caldwell, Ceidrick Hunt, Jirah Walker, Phillip Rush, Kristain
- 48 Eiland, Joel Brown and Jacob Walker; and
- WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize this group
- 50 of student-athletes who have brought honor to their school, their
- 51 community and to the State of Mississippi:
- 52 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 53 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby
- 54 commend and congratulate the Louisville High School "Wildcats"
- 55 football team and Triple State Title Coach Tyrone Shorter for
- 56 winning the 2023 Mississippi High School Activities Association
- 57 (MHSAA) Class 4A State Championship and extend the best wishes of
- 58 the Legislature to the team, coaches, parents and sponsors for
- 59 future success.
- 60 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be furnished to
- 61 Coach Tyrone Shorter, the Louisville Municipal School Board and to
- 62 the members of the Capitol Press Corps.