To: Transportation

PAGE 1 (DJ\EW)

By: Representatives Thompson, Hall

HOUSE BILL NO. 120 (As Sent to Governor)

1 AN ACT TO DESIGNATE A SEGMENT OF MISSISSIPPI HIGHWAY U.S. 2 HIGHWAY 278 LOCATED IN THE TOWN OF SHANNON, LEE COUNTY, 3 MISSISSIPPI, AS THE "JOHNNY R. PATTERSON MEMORIAL HIGHWAY"; TO 4 DESIGNATE A SEGMENT OF MISSISSIPPI HIGHWAY 25 LOCATED IN TISHOMINGO COUNTY, MISSISSIPPI, AS THE "DR. KELLY S. SEGARS, SR. 5 6 AND MARTHA SEGARS MEMORIAL HIGHWAY"; AND FOR RELATED PURPOSES. 7 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI: 8 SECTION 1. (1) The segment of Mississippi Highway U.S. Highway 278, also known as Noah Curtis Street, located in Shannon, 9 Lee County, Mississippi, extending for a distance of approximately 10 11 one (1) mile in the westerly direction from the eastern entrance 12 of Shannon Primary School to a point immediately west of the on-13 ramp interchange with U.S. Highway 45, is designated and shall be known as the "Johnny R. Patterson Memorial Highway." 14 15 (2) The Mississippi Department of Transportation shall erect and maintain appropriate signs along and approaching the segment 16 of highway described in subsection (1) of this section. 17 18 **SECTION 2.** (1) The segment of Mississippi Highway 25 located in Tishomingo County, Mississippi, beginning at County 19 Road 150 in Iuka, Mississippi, and extending north for one (1) 20 G1/2H. B. No. 120 ~ OFFICIAL ~ 24/HR43/R973SG

- 21 mile, is designated and shall be known as the "Dr. Kelly S.
- 22 Segars, Sr. and Martha Segars Memorial Highway" in memory of Dr.
- 23 Kelly S. Segars, Sr. and Martha Segars, who were known for their
- 24 significant lifelong contributions to the development, growth and
- 25 health of the citizens of Tishomingo County.
- 26 (2) The Mississippi Department of Transportation shall erect
- 27 and maintain appropriate signs along and approaching the segment
- 28 of highway described in subsection (1) of this section.
- 29 **SECTION** $\underline{3}$. This act shall take effect and be in force from
- 30 and after July 1, 2024.