MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Whaley, Barnett, Blackwell, To: Rules Butler (38th)

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 95

1 A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE MARSHALL 2 ACADEMY "LADY PATRIOTS" FAST-PITCH SOFTBALL TEAM AND "COACH OF THE 3 YEAR" CARLTON GIBSON FOR WINNING THE 2022 MAIS 4A STATE 4 CHAMPIONSHIP, WHICH WAS THEIR FOURTH STATE CHAMPIONSHIP IN SCHOOL 5 HISTORY. 6 WHEREAS, we join the Marshall Academy "Lady Patriots" 7 Fast-Pitch Softball Team for winning the 2023 MAIS 4A State 8 Championship which was Marshall's fourth State Softball 9 Championship in school history; and 10 WHEREAS, the 2022 Marshall Academy Fast-Pitch Softball Team was coached by Head Coach Carlton Gibson and Assistant Coaches 11 12 Marcus Moore and Jamie Rappa; and WHEREAS, the Lady Patriots were District 1-4A Champions, 13 North Half Champions and MAIS 4A State Champions. Their overall 14 15 record was 30-10-1. They won a best-of-three finals series 16 against Tri-County two games to win the State Title, winning the 17 last game on the road by a score of 3-2. The Championship series against Tri-County Academy: Game 1 at Tri-County, Marshall lost 18

19 4-6; Game 2 at Marshall, Marshall wins 9-4; Game 3 at Tri-County, 20 Marshall wins 3-2 to become State Champion; and

21 WHEREAS, Coach Gibson was the MAIS 4A Coach of the Year. The 22 Lady Patriots named to the All-State Team were Camdyn Taylor, 23 Kylie Milliorn, Landry Loper, Gracie Rappa, and Eliza Cavender, 24 who was also named the MAIS 4A Player of the Year for the State of 25 Mississippi; and

26 WHEREAS, the 2022 "Lady Patriots" Championship Fast-Pitch 27 Softball Team Roster: Kamden Taylor, Megan Brewer, Rebekah 28 Brigance, Anniston Jordan, Landry Loper, Eliza Cavender, Gracie 29 Rappa, Charlie Johnson, Molly Anderson, Luci Tomlinson, Kyleigh 30 Milliorn, Rylyn Gray, Ayla Jordan, Lauren Parks, Kylee Harris, 31 Isabella Stephenson; Head Coach Carlton Gibson, Assistant Coaches 32 Marcus Moore and Jamie Rappa; and Manager, Esme Cavender; and

33 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize this group 34 of student athletes who have brought honor to their school, their 35 community and to the State of Mississippi:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 36 37 MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the 38 Marshall Academy "Lady Patriots" Fast-Pitch Softball Team and 39 "Coach of the Year" Carlton Gibson for winning the 2022 MAIS 4A 40 State Championship, which was their fourth State Championship in 41 school history, and extend the best wishes of the Mississippi Senate to the team, coaches, parents and sponsors for future 42 43 success.

~ OFFICIAL ~

S. R. No. 95 23/SS36/R1426 PAGE 2 (rdd\tb) BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to Coach of the Year Carlton Gibson and Marshall Academy Headmaster Jason Taylor, forwarded to the Marshall Academy Board of Trustees and made available to the Capitol Press Corps.

S. R. No. 95 23/SS36/R1426 PAGE 3 (rdd\tb) ST: Commend Marshall Academy "Lady Patriots" Fast-Pitch Softball Team for winning the 2022 MAIS 4A State Championship.