By: Senator(s) Norwood, Frazier, Thomas, Blount, Hickman, Horhn, Simmons (12th), Barnett, Butler (38th), Jackson

To: Rules

## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 56

- A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE JACKSON STATE
  UNIVERSITY "TIGERS" 2022 SOCCER TEAM FOR WINNING THE SWAC REGULAR
  SEASON CHAMPIONSHIP AND HEAD COACH DR. TED FLOGAITES AS "SWAC
  COACH OF THE YEAR".
- 5 WHEREAS, we join the students, faculty and fans of the
- 6 Jackson State University "Tigers" Soccer Team for the following
- 7 outstanding accomplishments during the 2022 Championship season;
- 8 and
- 9 WHEREAS, Jackson State won the 2022 SWAC Regular Season
- 10 Championship; 2022 SWAC Tournament; 2022 NCAA Tournament
- 11 Appearance; Sydni Wilson was named SWAC Defensive Player of the
- 12 Year, Second Team All-SWAC, All-Tournament Team; Tionna Taylor was
- 13 named SWAC Goalkeeper of the Year, First Team All-SWAC, SWAC
- 14 All-Tournament Team; Ayanna Pinder was named First Team All-SWAC;
- 15 Sage Magruder was named First Team All-SWAC; Annalise Brunson was
- 16 named Second Team All-SWAC; Chantae Blackwood was named Second
- 17 Team All-SWAC; Olivia Cobb was named SWAC All-Tournament Team;
- 18 Kendyl Terrell was named SWAC All-Tournament Team; and Head Coach
- 19 Dr. Ted Flogaites was named SWAC Coach of the Year; and

| 20 | WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize these            |
|----|--|
| 21 | university athletes who have brought honor to their university,    |
| 22 | their community and to the State of Mississippi:                   |
| 23 | NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF       |
| 24 | MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the        |
| 25 | Jackson State University "Tigers" 2022 Soccer Team for winning the |
| 26 | SWAC Regular Season Championship and Head Coach Dr. Ted Flogaites  |
| 27 | as "SWAC Coach of the Year", and extend the best wishes of the     |
| 28 | Mississippi Senate to the team, coaches, parents and sponsors for  |
| 29 | continued success on and off the playing field.                    |
| 30 | BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to       |
| 31 | Head Coach Dr. Ted Flogaites and JSU Acting President Dr. Elayne   |
| 32 | Hayes-Anthony for the team, forwarded to the Board of Trustees of  |
| 33 | State Institutions of Higher Learning and made available to the    |
| 34 | Capitol Press Corps.   |