MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Norwood, Frazier, Thomas, Blount, Hickman, Horhn, Simmons (12th), Barnett, Butler (38th), Jackson To: Rules

## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 53

1 A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE 2021 AND 2022 2 JACKSON STATE UNIVERSITY "TIGERS" MEN'S CROSS-COUNTRY TEAMS FOR 3 WINNING CONSECUTIVE SWACC CHAMPIONSHIPS. 4 WHEREAS, we join the students, faculty, administration and fans of Jackson State University "Tigers" Cross Country in 5 honoring the 2021 and 2022 teams for consecutive SWACC 6 7 Championships; and 8 WHEREAS, the 2021 team achieved the following individual 9 honors: 10 2021 Men's Cross County - Won 2021 SWAC Championship; Brian 11 Koringo, First Team All-SWAC; Jallah Galimah, First Team All-SWAC; Tyler Duncan, First Team All-SWAC; and Head Coach Mark Thorne 12 13 named 2021 SWAC Coach of the Year; and 14 WHEREAS, the 2022 team achieved the following individual 15 honors: 16 2022 Men's Cross Country - Won Second Straight SWAC 17 Championship; 2022 NCAA Tournament; Tyler Duncan, First Team 18 All-SWAC; Jallah Galimah, First Team All-SWAC; Marguentin Barnes,

S. R. No. 53	~ OFFICIAL ~	N1/2
23/SS08/R1365		
PAGE 1 (rdd\tb)		

First Team All-SWAC; and Head Coach Mark Thorne named SWAC Coach of the Year; D.J. Stevens, Second Team All-SWAC; Justin Ragin, Second Team All-SWAC; Isaiah Bolden, Second Team All-SWAC; Alejandro Mata, Second Team All-SWAC; and Deion "Coach Prime" Sanders, 2022 SWAC Coach of the Year; and

24 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize these two 25 university teams who have brought honor to their teams, their 26 school, their home communities and to the State of Mississippi:

27 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 28 MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the 2021 29 and 2022 Jackson State University "Tigers" Men's Cross-Country 30 Teams for winning consecutive SWAC Championships, and extend the 31 best wishes of the Mississippi Senate to the team, coaches, 32 parents and sponsors for future success.

33 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to 34 Head Coach Mark Thorne and Head Coach Deon Sanders and JSU Acting 35 President Dr. Elayne Hayes-Anthony for the team, forwarded to the 36 Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning and 37 made available to the Capitol Press Corps.