MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Kirby, Harkins, Michel, Barnett, Butler (38th), McLendon, Thomas To: Rules

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 7

1 A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE JACKSON PREP 2 "PATRIOTS" FOOTBALL TEAM AND HEAD COACH DOUG GOODWIN FOR WINNING 3 THE MAIS CLASS 6A STATE FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP.

4 WHEREAS, Jackson Prep quarterback Paxton Thompson led Jackson Prep (12-1) with 161 passing yards and three touchdowns in a 21-14 5 victory over 3-time defending champs Madison-Ridgeland Academy 6 (10-4). The drought had lasted 1,464 days from the 2018 MAIS 4A 7 Title Game, and ended November 19, 2022, with Jackson Prep's 8 9 victory as the MAIS Class 6A Champions at Mississippi College; and WHEREAS, Jackson Prep's offense started off slow out of the 10 11 gates. However, the Patriots tallied a score just before half-time in hopes of sparking a second-half comeback. After 12 13 trailing 14-7 at halftime, Jackson Prep got to work, tying the 14 game at 14-14. A few drives later, a deep pass found Will Upton to give Jackson Prep its first lead of the game after they forced 15 several takeaways from MRA. Jackson Prep went on to win 21-14 to 16 claim their 26th State Championship Title, their first 17 18 Championship win since 2018; and

S. R. No. 7 N1/2 23/SS26/R414.1 PAGE 1 (rdd\kr) 19 WHEREAS, "These guys have a lot of character and a lot of 20 fight in them and they weren't going to quit," Jackson Prep Head 21 Coach Doug Goodwin said; and

22 WHEREAS, the 2022 Jackson Prep Championship roster is: Sam 23 Watts, Duncan Matthews, Josh White, Winn Crosby, Nolan Canoy, Ford 24 McDaniel, Matthew Laseter, William Walker, Lake Womack, Carson Powell, Will Upton, Parker Puckett, William Laird, Clayton 25 26 Upchurch, Paxton Thompson, Hayden Frazure, Harrison Fulcher, 27 Peyton Puckett, Bodie Akins, Blount Blackledge, Grey Thompson, 28 Owen Ishee, Beckham Powers, Bennett Herring, Luke Smith, Benji 29 Branning, Luke Harrigill, Ford Futvoye, Will Herron, Micah 30 Stallworth, Cole Gideon, Major Quin, Will McMaster, Woods Roberson, Ken Core, Jake Bailey, Thomas Gough, Cage Puckett, 31 32 Thomas Cross, Parker Page, Sean Michael Odom, Trey Welch, Mason 33 McElveen, Laird Johnson, Charles Phillips, Maddox Noe, Blair 34 Hurst, Robert Watson, Stewart Grubbs, Clayton Grubbs, Allen 35 Rebich, Wilson Cotten, Mason Brown, Banks Hewitt, Brantley Denson, Cole Allen, Laquarrious Finley, Henry Jordan, Robert Thomas, Jay 36 37 Allen, Ryan Fisackerly, Reid Vineyard, Thomas Coco, Carter Eaton, 38 Charlie Norris, Charles Walker Waddell, Barton Lampton, Gage 39 Liston, Turner Reeves, Walter George, Owen McCraney, Andy Brown, 40 Jack Carter, Holden Heigle, John Ed Maddux, Chad Mask, Will Morgan; Head Coach Doug Goodwin, Coaches, Graham Eklund, Matt 41 Butts, Nick Brewer, Zander Romano, Marcus Thompson and Rusty 42 43 Burke; and

~ OFFICIAL ~

S. R. No. 7 23/SS26/R414.1 PAGE 2 (rdd\kr) 44 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize this group 45 of student athletes who have brought honor to their school, their 46 community and to the State of Mississippi:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Jackson Prep "Patriots" Football Team and Head Coach Doug Goodwin for winning the MAIS Class 6A State Football Championship and extend the best wishes of the Legislature to the team, coaches, parents and sponsors for future success.

53 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to 54 Coach Doug Goodwin for the team and Jackson Prep Headmaster 55 Lawrence Coco, forwarded to the Jackson Prep Board of Trustees, 56 and made available to the Capitol Press Corps.