MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Michel, Boyd, Butler (38th), To: Rules McCaughn

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 556

1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION EXTENDING THE CONGRATULATIONS OF THE 2 MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE TO UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI (OLE MISS) 3 ALL-SEC SENIOR OFFENSIVE LINEMAN NICK BROEKER UPON BEING NAMED THE 4 WINNER OF THE 2022 KENT HULL TROPHY BY THE MISSISSIPPI SPORTS HALL 5 OF FAME AND FOR HIS POSTSEASON ACCOLADES. WHEREAS, All-SEC Ole Miss offensive lineman Nick Broeker was 6 7 named the winner of the Kent Hull Trophy by the Mississippi Sports 8 Hall of Fame. Broeker received the award during the C Spire 9 Conerly Trophy virtual ceremony on November 29, 2022; and 10 WHEREAS, the award has been presented annually to the top collegiate offensive lineman in Mississippi; and 11 12 WHEREAS, it is named after Magnolia State native Kent Hull, who spent 11 seasons with the "Buffalo Bills," appearing in four 13 14 straight Super Bowls and three consecutive Pro Bowls; and 15 WHEREAS, Broeker, a native of Springfield, Illinois, started all 12 games in 2022 for the "Rebels" at left guard, playing in 16 nearly all offensive snaps (907). Broeker has not allowed a sack 17 18 in 505 pass blocking snaps and is an anchor for an Ole Miss

S. C. R. No. 556	~ OFFICIAL ~	N1/2
23/SS08/R331.1		
PAGE 1 (rdd\kr)		

19 offense that ranks No. 3 in the FBS in rushing yards per game
20 (261.6) and No. 7 in total offense (491.2); and

21 WHEREAS, Nick had an award-winning season, being named 22 All-SEC, 2nd Team All-American and participating in the Senior 23 Bowl in Mobile, Alabama; and

24 WHEREAS, Broeker is a member of an offensive line unit that 25 has blocked for a rushing attack that features the only team in 26 the country with two players over 850 yards rushing. Ole Miss is 27 the only FBS team with more than 5,500 yards of total offense, 28 while having more than 3,000 yards rushing; and

29 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we commend this 30 outstanding University of Mississippi athlete who has brought 31 recognition to his team, his university and to the State of 32 Mississippi:

33 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 34 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That 35 we do hereby extend the congratulations of the Mississippi Legislature to University of Mississippi (Ole Miss) All-SEC Senior 36 37 Offensive Lineman Nick Broeker, upon being named the winner of the 38 2022 Kent Hull Trophy by the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame, and 39 thank Nick and his family for bringing honor to his team, the 40 University of Mississippi and to the State of Mississippi, and extend our best wishes to Nick for future success in his 41 42 professional football career.

S. C. R. No. 556 **~ OFFICIAL ~** 23/SS08/R331.1 PAGE 2 (rdd\kr) 43 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to 44 Nick Broeker and his family, forwarded to the University of 45 Mississippi and be made available to the Capitol Press Corps. 46

S. C. R. No. 556 23/SS08/R331.1 PAGE 3 (rdd\kr) ST: Congratulate Ole Miss Senior Offensive Lineman Nick Broeker as winner of 2022 Kent Hull Trophy and for postseason awards.